Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Sublime Text 3 Beta

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby tanepiper on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:59 am

I agree with lyubenblagoev's sentiment - I understand you've been hard at work on the new features for ST3 and appreciate what you've been working on, but it does seem that ST2 was beta for a long, long time - got released and now we're basically paying for another beta period where potentially the app will have issues and not be stable. And I'd say apart from the work you've done on symbol loading, many of the features do seem more like a 2.1 release rather than a whole 3.0 release.

Edit: and on top that, most useful plugins won't be initially compatible, and we'll have to wait until the author can, or even will, get round to porting these (and that a new version of package manager is made available to support this). Overall it doesn't feel right that at least some of these improvements aren't back-ported into ST2.

With that in mid, I've already found one bug with HTML autocomplete that will stop be using it for now. I've included a screenshot to show it: http://cl.ly/image/1Z1a2m063A0s

This happens where I type <h and then press tab.
Last edited by tanepiper on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
tanepiper
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 6:40 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:00 am

lyubenblagoev wrote:JSP, I'm a bit disappointed for the short life-cycle of Sublime Text 2.

The first version of Sublime Text 2 was available to registered users on September 17, 2010, with the most recent build being on September 18, 2012. 2 years of continuous updates is a massive amount. In reality, counting should start from January 18, 2008, as everyone who purchased then received updates until September 2012, four and a half years later.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby juanfal on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:04 am

How to make a smooth jump? After copying the Library (complete) and change any reference from /Applications/Sublime Text 2.app to /Applications/Sublime Text.app most of my keyboard shortcuts do not work nor latex build… etc.
juanfal
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby lyubenblagoev on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:04 am

I meant the life cycle of a full featured release, which is meant to be the final version, the major release.
Since a code editor is something all of us uses all the time I'm not interested in using beta, unstable versions of this kind of software. As I noted I bought V2 after it was in beta for a long time. So how long it took to get to a stable release is not something that users appreciate when they give their money for something.
lyubenblagoev
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:16 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby dafire on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:11 am

tanepiper wrote:I agree with lyubenblagoev's sentiment - I understand you've been hard at work on the new features for ST3 and appreciate what you've been working on, but it does seem that ST2 was beta for a long, long time - got released and now we're basically paying for another beta period where potentially the app will have issues and not be stable.


I don't understand that. If you don't want a unstable version you can use the stable st2 you paid for. It's not going away and I'm sure it will get bug fixes when needed.

I've not read anything about an end of life of st2... was there something in the announcement I overread ? I think there are more people still using python 2 and nobody forces anyone on using python 3 .. isn't it the same with st2 and st3 ?
dafire
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:07 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby tux. on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:16 am

One thing I have noticed: I can't "Hide" the sidebar until I show something in it. The menu item is disabled.
Image
tux.
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:04 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby j0k on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:22 am

jps wrote:
j0k wrote:Does Symbol Indexing works only for opened files? It seems that if I close a file, Goto Symbol in Project doesn't find any functions that are inside the closed file. Is there an option to enabled/not enabled?

It works across all open files, and all files listed in the side bar. It sounds like you need to add the relevant folder to the side bar, either by dragging the folder onto the window, or using the "Project/Add Folder to Project" menu.


In fact, this folder is already in the project.
Once the file isn't open anymore, it can't find the symbol. But if I open the file, it can find the symbol.
j0k
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:15 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby micromatic on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:27 am

Thanx jps, i just installed ST3 and I see: the upsetting line break problem has been solved, this is essential to me as I use ST for prose writing!!! :)

Nice sanx a lot to John

Greetz
micromatic
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby bizoo on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:29 am

lyubenblagoev wrote:I meant the life cycle of a full featured release, which is meant to be the final version, the major release.
Since a code editor is something all of us uses all the time I'm not interested in using beta, unstable versions of this kind of software. As I noted I bought V2 after it was in beta for a long time. So how long it took to get to a stable release is not something that users appreciate when they give their money for something.

I somewhat agree with your feeling as it looks like there's no more support for ST2.
But OTOH, as a long times user of ST2 back to early beta, I can say that every beta builds of ST2 was more stable than most final builds of most other software.
Maybe it's a little early now to jump in the ST3 wagon but wait a few weeks and I'm pretty sure the ST3 builds will be perfectly usable as your main editor (if we do not take into account missing plugins).
bizoo
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby tanepiper on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:37 am

dafire wrote:
tanepiper wrote:I agree with lyubenblagoev's sentiment - I understand you've been hard at work on the new features for ST3 and appreciate what you've been working on, but it does seem that ST2 was beta for a long, long time - got released and now we're basically paying for another beta period where potentially the app will have issues and not be stable.


I don't understand that. If you don't want a unstable version you can use the stable st2 you paid for. It's not going away and I'm sure it will get bug fixes when needed.

I've not read anything about an end of life of st2... was there something in the announcement I overread ? I think there are more people still using python 2 and nobody forces anyone on using python 3 .. isn't it the same with st2 and st3 ?


There was no mention of anything to do with ST2's life cycle and that's kind of the point - we don't know that, as users who paid during during the beta period, if we're getting any new 2.x features - for example:

"Speed. Sublime Text has always had speed as a feature, but version 3 addresses some weak points. Startup time is now virtually immediate, and plugins no longer have the opportunity to bring this down. Replace All performance is also significantly faster."


That to me reads more like 'I found a bunch of bugs and I've fixed the plugin system to it doesn't crash as much'.
tanepiper
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 6:40 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jbrooksuk, Yahoo [Bot] and 37 guests