Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

[SOLVED] ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby wbond on Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:10 am

Arjan wrote:
wbond wrote:Have you tried setting "index_files" to false?


Yes, that obviously "fixes" the problems, but I need to have it on.


So then the reason it works in ST2 is because ST2 does not index files.

How much ram do you have on this machine? I wonder if you machine can't handle keeping the index of all 100,000 files in memory?

Have you tried moving a few folders to see if 80,000 files works ok?

Are some of these 100,000 version control files? If so, have you set them to be ignored?

Have you tried checking out another really large project to see if it happens with that too? Using SVN to checkout something like http://svn.apache.org/repos/asf/subversion/tags/ should give ST3 plenty to chew on.
wbond
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby GrantSP on Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:43 am

Arjan wrote:
First of all, it's important to realize I use the EXACT same project on ST2 on the same machine with no problems whatsoever. Moreover, I use the exact same project on ST3 on a Linux machine with no problems whatsoever.


wbond wrote:
So then the reason it works in ST2 is because ST2 does not index files.


Clearly then you are not using the EXACT same project.
GrantSP
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:11 am

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby jbrooksuk on Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:57 am

GrantSP wrote:Clearly then you are not using the EXACT same project.

ST3 indexes files whilst ST2 doesn't. So yes, he can still be using the EXACT same project and have a different experience.
jbrooksuk
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:37 am
Location: England

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby Arjan on Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:57 pm

wbond wrote:
How much ram do you have on this machine? I wonder if you machine can't handle keeping the index of all 100,000 files in memory?

Have you tried moving a few folders to see if 80,000 files works ok?

Are some of these 100,000 version control files? If so, have you set them to be ignored?

Have you tried checking out another really large project to see if it happens with that too? Using SVN to checkout something like http://svn.apache.org/repos/asf/subversion/tags/ should give ST3 plenty to chew on.


1. 16gb ram

2. I have not tried moving any folders, as i assume reducing the file set will fix the problem

3. It's under git, nothing is ignored

4. I will try that
Arjan
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:08 pm

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby qgates on Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:53 pm

Check also that the disk holding your project is in good shape, both at the filesystem level (chkdsk, fragmentation etc) and also at the low level (smart errors, sector/seek errors etc.). For the latter you can check the system event log for errors reported by the "disk" service.

If there are disk problems, especially low level, this will cause things to get very slow indeed as your system gets stuck in endless timeout/retry loops that sublime is unaware of.

You can also check that windows hasn't fallen back to PIO (vs. UDMA) access mode for the project's drive as well. This creates CPU load and slow everything down like hell.
qgates
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby Arjan on Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:19 pm

qgates wrote:Check also that the disk holding your project is in good shape, both at the filesystem level (chkdsk, fragmentation etc) and also at the low level (smart errors, sector/seek errors etc.). For the latter you can check the system event log for errors reported by the "disk" service.

If there are disk problems, especially low level, this will cause things to get very slow indeed as your system gets stuck in endless timeout/retry loops that sublime is unaware of.

You can also check that windows hasn't fallen back to PIO (vs. UDMA) access mode for the project's drive as well. This creates CPU load and slow everything down like hell.


SSD, I have no problem with it whatsoever. I did a benchmark on it just to have done it, and it's in good shape; no errors in system log.
Arjan
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:08 pm

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby GrantSP on Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:44 pm

jbrooksuk wrote:
ST3 indexes files whilst ST2 doesn't. So yes, he can still be using the EXACT same project and have a different experience.


Yes, that is true. "index_files" is not a setting within the scope of the project settings. However, he is so adamant that the only difference between the two setups is the apparent degradation in speed he is experiencing. This firm conviction forcing him to avoid the obvious error in his belief. Take this comment.
Arjan wrote:
Yes, that obviously "fixes" the problems, but I need to have it on.


Again, clearly he does not "need" to have it on, for in his own words the experience with ST2 was without fault. Despite there being no indexing.
Despite all advice to the betterment of the experience, he remains resolute he is right.
I am no ST guru, I readily admit that. I am also not so stubborn as to reject the solution because it does not fit with my idea of what is the problem.
If only Arjan would see that.
GrantSP
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:11 am

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby jps on Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:02 am

Arjan wrote:The project opens fine, but after a while, ST3 is unresponsive.

Can you expand on what you mean by unresponsive? Also, is it a gradual thing, or does it happen all at once?
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby jps on Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:54 am

Arjan wrote:
GrantSP wrote:How did you determine there is a "indexing/ST processes" problem? What was it?


I used ProcExplorer and noticed the problem already described


What did ProcExplorer show you?
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: ST3 slow on Win8 64bit

Postby jps on Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:55 am

Arjan wrote:
wbond wrote:Have you tried setting "index_files" to false?


Yes, that obviously "fixes" the problems, but I need to have it on.


It's not at all obvious to me. Just to be sure, can you confirm that you did indeed try this and that the symptoms disappeared after turning it off?
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests