Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

New logo discussion?

New logo discussion?

Postby jbrooksuk on Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:09 pm

With the alpha release of Sublime 2, I think that a new logo should be bundled with it :)

Maybe it's just me, but I find the current icon doesn't describe the application very well. From what I can tell, it's supposed to display that Sublime is focused on the middle of the window, ergo, the code.

A new logo and icon would add a new lease of life to it. Especially for advertising the new editor!

I'm not a designer myself so I wouldn't be able to do this myself. And like always, this is just an idea!
jbrooksuk

Re: New logo discussion?

Postby GreyWyvern on Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:22 pm

You're late. I already proposed a new logo some time ago. No word from Jon about it yet, though. ;) :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=857
GreyWyvern

Postby kirk1h on Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:39 am

i think sublime would benefit by changing the whole theme to attract new users. the scrollbars + buttons seem very strange (ugly at least to me -.-) and too game-like. the nonexistant contrast on the tabs are also way to hard on the eyes.
in my opinion intype does this very well:

is there a way to use the standard system scrollbars?
kirk1h

Postby jbrooksuk on Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:03 am

Here is one of my attempts at a logo.

Kind of makes sense to be using Green with lime in the name :)
jbrooksuk

Postby jbrooksuk on Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:04 am

Here is another using a slightly different font.

jbrooksuk

Postby oxman on Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:29 pm

Sublime is Dark.
Not Green.
oxman

Postby jbrooksuk on Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:40 am

luisvelaz wrote:Are you kidding? Sublime Text is all about elegance and style, molded from a piece of obsidian, not an anoying lime-lemon editor.

And yes, you are not a designer :D

No I am not kidding...