Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

How to make Sublime more safe

Re: How to make Sublime more safe

Postby pete340 on Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:58 pm

eMarvin wrote:
pete340 wrote:What's the point of your anecdotal evidence? I've had bogus software that **consistently** produced bad effects in other software; the problem was the bogus software, not the software that actually failed.


Which is not the case here.


My mistake. Of course you're right, since you say so.
pete340
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:45 pm

Re: How to make Sublime more safe

Postby ntenney on Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:27 pm

eMarvin wrote:
pete340 wrote:My mistake. Of course you're right, since you say so.


No problem, everyone makes mistakes from time to time.


I think his point was that we only have your word on it. I'd like to reiterate my request to have you post your steps to reproduce here. I personally would like to see if I can reproduce it on my systems, as I have never seen any data loss and have never disabled atomic saves. Please include your operating system version and what anti-virus program you have, as well as what version of Sublime Text you are using.
ntenney
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:10 pm

Re: How to make Sublime more safe

Postby pete340 on Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:24 pm

ntenney wrote:
eMarvin wrote:
pete340 wrote:My mistake. Of course you're right, since you say so.


No problem, everyone makes mistakes from time to time.


I think his point was that we only have your word on it. I'd like to reiterate my request to have you post your steps to reproduce here. I personally would like to see if I can reproduce it on my systems, as I have never seen any data loss and have never disabled atomic saves. Please include your operating system version and what anti-virus program you have, as well as what version of Sublime Text you are using.


Don't feed the troll.
pete340
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:45 pm

Re: How to make Sublime more safe

Postby ntenney on Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:44 pm

eMarvin wrote:As for reproducing: I can more or less force this on two Win8 64, ssd machines with atomic save on. The loss is always preceded by the MoveEx error (win64 api locks presumably lingers and ST doesn't check for that). Hence, a prerequisite to reproduce this bug is to get the locked error (which a few people have reported) which on two of my machines is very easy - just keep ctrl+s pressed for for a couple of seconds on a medium-sized file.

Anti-virus/backup/etc off during tests (one machine a clean win64 install with only sublime and clang installed)


Thanks for getting back on this. Is it a C or C++ file that you see this on, or will it occur with any type of file? What is a "medium" file to you? A few hundred lines, a few thousand, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, millions? Which version of Sublime? Are you using any plugins in Sublime?

The reason I'm asking all this is, I'm on a windows 8.1 64 bit ultrabook (Lenovo yoga2 pro) with an ssd, 8 GB ram, and a core i7 processor, SublimeText 3 build 3062, no clang, but I do have mingw installed, Anti-virus running (avast). On this particular installation, I have Anaconda, Evernote, InsertDate, Keymaps, Markdown Preview, MarkdownEditing, PlainTasks, Predawn, Theme - Afterglow, Theme - Flatland, and Vintageous plugins installed. I generated a sublime-settings file that was 350k lines (copy and paste the default settings file into a new file multiple times), and pressed and held ctrl+s for more than 10 seconds and had no issue, so there may be something I'm missing in my set up.

Thanks again.
ntenney
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:10 pm

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests