Sublime Forum

Selecting Text Between Strings

Need some help. I’ve got a couple hundred txt files with some JSON in it but it’s buried inside some markup/code. I’m not a coder. I’m a statistician. And the data I need is the lines of JSON. The good news is that the JSON data is located between two unique strings that don’t appear anywhere else on the page. So right before the JSON I’ve got (quotation marks are mine):

"]
, "

Basically I need to be able to select and copy everything between those character strings. Or perhaps even more simply, just delete everything before (including) and after the character strings. That would prevent me from having to paste the copied text elsewhere.

I thought Sublime might be able to accomplish this, but I’ve played around with a couple of packages and it’s not as immediately obvious how I would do this, or how I would do this without knowing some regex (which I don’t; again outside of R, I’m not much of a coder).

So any suggestions or even just some existing plug or snippet that gets me close I can modify would be extremely helpful. Thank you.

0 Likes

You can search and select using regexp matching your sequence.

0 Likes

Thanks for the reply. As I mentioned explicitly in the original post, I don’t know regular expressions.

0 Likes

I’m having a hard time understanding what your files look like from the description. Is the text you want surrounded by “]” and ", " or by two instances of those two lines combined?

Would it be possible to post a sample from your files? Something that includes two or three instances of the text you want and the bits around it.

0 Likes

estmatic:

Thanks for the reply. What I’ve got is a few hundred lines of code (some HTML and JS). The line where I need to start grabbing the JSON is actually inside a var declaration so it looks like:

var initialData = [1111,47,'Station_01',Station_02','03/13/2014 02:30:00','03/16/201',6,'FT','1 : 3','3 : 3',,,'3 : 3'] , [1111,'Station_01',7.05,...