Sublime Forum

My First Impressions of Sublime Text

Hello, everyone. I’m new to Sublime Text and I want to share my first impressions compared with other editors, that might help people to pick their personal perfect editor. But let me start about myself:

I’m a young, experienced programmer who likes coding in C++. Sometimes I also do some web development using HTML, CSS, PHP and MySQL, recently also trying client-based realtime applications intensively using JavaScript. What do I need for my development environment? For the code editor, there’s primarily:

• Speed: One of the most important things for me is the startup speed as well as the overall running speed.

• Customization: I love if I can customize quite anything in the programs, in behavior and in look&feel.

• Indentation: I don’t need much intelligence here, but at least taking the indentation from the previous line when inserting a line-break is a must for me. (yeah, gedit does not have it)

I was used working on Windows, but today I am mostly working on Linux. As I am - more or less - both operating systems, the editor must be at least available for these two platforms.