Sublime Forum

Any way to recover closed windows?

Hello,

I’m still fairly new to these kinds of editors, and getting to grips with everything, but it seems I may have screwed myself quite a bit here.

I’ve run into an issue just now where I can’t seem to be able to find a way to recover my work.

To start off, I noticed that Sublime was pretty good about autosaving and reloading data from files, even if I had not executed a manual save. In this case, I decided to use it as a ‘scratch pad’ of sorts to note down random ideas I had and such. I also used it to write some code, but because it was all kinds of different things not related to each other, I didn’t think to ‘save’ everything as a ‘Project’ – to me as a new user, I had no idea what implications that had.

With that, while writing my code, I had opened two more windows – these two were ‘projects’ where I loaded everything from specific folders for quick reference using the find-in-all-files feature. I used these to expedite my coding in my ‘main’ window. As far as I can recall, everything worked fine like this because usually, when I went to reboot my PC, I let Windows close everything all at once. Thus, when I reloaded Sublime Text (version 2,) it re-opened all 3 windows automatically. This worked even through crashes, apparently.

However, in my last reboot, I may have screwed myself a bit, as I (without much thought) closed each window manually. I assume that I closed one of my ‘reference’ windows last, because upon reopening Sublime…this project was the only one to load. Have I lost all of my data? Is it possible to somehow salvage and reload the three windows I’ve had open?

Thank you.

1 Like

Recover unsaved files lost because of killed application [OSx]

If you used projects, you can reopen the last state the project was in easily with the ctrl+alt+p project switcher. If not, you’re fucked.