Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Project-specific build systems?

Project-specific build systems?

Postby Rezzie on Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:08 pm

Is it possible (and if not, can I make a feature request?) to have project-specific build systems?

I currently have four different projects I'm switching between, each with their own build requirements. At the moment, I have a custom build system for each one filling up the "Build Systems" menu - even though they're project specific.

It'd be nice to have the build system linked to the project; either specified directly in the sublime-project file or by linking to the custom sublime-build file (stored out of the Packages directory).
Rezzie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:42 am

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby Rezzie on Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:05 pm

I see that this was added in Dev 2104. Thanks! :)
Rezzie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:42 am

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby nilcolor on Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:08 pm

Can you show me how to add project specific build system in `sublime-project` file?
And can i add more than one there?
nilcolor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby jps on Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:24 pm

jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3077
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby atomi on Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:30 pm

jps wrote:http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/2/projects.html


This isn't working for me.
I assume you mean to go ahead and add the following to the sublime-workspace file as the sublime-project file seems to have been relegated to defining mount points.
Code: Select all
    "build_system": [
        {
            "name": "List",
            "cmd": ["ls"]
        }
    ]


Should "List" be appearing under Tools > Build Systems (I don't see this) or is the project build triggered elsewhere?

Edit: Platform is on Win7x64 with Sublime Text 2 Portable Beta 2131
atomi
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA US

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby jps on Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:57 am

atomi wrote:I assume you mean to go ahead and add the following to the sublime-workspace file

It goes in the .sublime-project file, as in the example on the aforementioned page. The .sublime-workspace file is not supposed to be edited by hand.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3077
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby atomi on Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:08 am

jps wrote:
atomi wrote:I assume you mean to go ahead and add the following to the sublime-workspace file

It goes in the .sublime-project file, as in the example on the aforementioned page. The .sublime-workspace file is not supposed to be edited by hand.


I guess that's what I get for assuming :oops:
Working - thanks.
atomi
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA US

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby nickjc on Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:08 am

What am I doing wrong?

This is my sublime-project file

{
"folders":
[
{
"follow_symlinks": true,
"path": "."
}
],
"settings":
{
"open_related_patterns": [
["*/src/js/**/*.js", "*/src/template/**/*.html", "*/test/**/*.spec.js"]
]
},
"build_systems":
[
{
"name": "LT Profile",
"cmd": ["ant"]
},
{
"name": "List",
"cmd": ["ls"]
}
]
}

nothing new shows up under tools -> build and if i select automatic, the build command gets disabled
nickjc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:21 pm

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby bluepimple on Tue May 06, 2014 8:17 pm

I added the new build file into
C:\Users\chew\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 3\Packages\User

and add the above PATH to environment variable, but everytime i load build system, below appear

{
"shell_cmd": "make"
}

Where is the above default build system file in ?
bluepimple
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 10:01 am

Re: Project-specific build systems?

Postby hsandt on Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:50 am

atomi wrote:
jps wrote:http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/2/projects.html


This isn't working for me.
I assume you mean to go ahead and add the following to the sublime-workspace file as the sublime-project file seems to have been relegated to defining mount points.
Code: Select all
    "build_system": [
        {
            "name": "List",
            "cmd": ["ls"]
        }
    ]




I don't know for the others, but in my case I have been typing "build_system" instead of "build_systems". With build_systems it worked (the new system appears under Tools > Build System), however I had to take care not to use ${HOME} just like this in working_dir path. For now I type it manually, I wonder if setting the os.environ() as http://robdodson.me/blog/2012/05/14/hac ... lime-text/ does with PATH, but for HOME, would work...
I'm sure I found out how to do on my computer but right now I'm in my lab so I have to verify it when I'm back... home...
hsandt
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:21 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], ToddFiske and 28 guests