Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Dev Build 2132

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby bizoo on Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:50 pm

What's the future of Code Folding, still using indentation as reference or use foldingStartMarker/foldingStopMarker from .tmLanguage ?
bizoo
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby atomi on Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:10 pm

tux21b wrote:I do not like the big triangles everywhere, although I like the general functionality. Would it be possible to print some line numbers in bold (or a sightly different color) and make them click-able instead?


I think that might look nice (especially with an on hover hue change) - no additional gutter width too :)
But, it's unconventional so who knows... another suggestion would be to use an additional marker in the bookmarks gutter.

Edited. I'm not an UI expert. I don't know what I'm talking about. :|
atomi
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA US

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby atomi on Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:40 pm

sublimator wrote:The fold markers are pretty noisy huh. I turned em off but then I don't really use folding.


Hey man . I never use code folding either, but I noticed that jps implemented code folding markers where code blocks are tab indented.
That is something I've never seen before that I can see being useful.

It may be much more usable if there was a single keyboard shortcut for only toggling code folding.
This way it wont be necessary to have folding markers in the gutter to fold code.
In addition, I think pressing enter or space when on a line that has folded code should unfold the code.

For example in the image below, if my cursor is at the red (or anywhere in the code block indicated by blue for that matter except line 15&16)
and I execute a toggle folding keyboard shortcut, the whole code block indicated by blue should fold.
Later, if I'm on the line 12 and I press enter or execute the toggle folding shortcut it should unfold the code.
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (22.27 KiB) Viewed 1797 times


Again I'm not a usability expert just some :idea:'s

Edit: it may also be that I need to adjust to the current shortcuts. :|
atomi
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA US

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby tito on Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:15 am

Something very useful about folding I never saw in an editor is the ability to "re-fold"

Image you have a very big class with a lot of methods folded, you are working in a few very related unfolded.

You may want to "unfold" everything in order to look for something.

Then, once you finish, what you want there is "refold".. a manually "refold" takes a lot of time.
Give APIs, let the community build the rest!
https://github.com/titoBouzout
tito
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby tito on Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:31 am

I previously tested Dev Build 2131 and now using Dev Build 2132.
There is a problem with the selection. Sometimes I want to select some text by normal dragging and sublime start crazy one line below and also it select more portions of other lines. I was not paying attention and I can't see a way to reproduce this. This happens with these two dev builds.

Anyone seeing this?
Give APIs, let the community build the rest!
https://github.com/titoBouzout
tito
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby rchl on Sat Oct 15, 2011 2:58 pm

Not new to this build but on Mac, when I trigger opening of a file (from external program) that is already open then ST does not automatically switch to this file.
rchl
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:02 pm

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby DSHugo on Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:23 pm

tito wrote:Sometimes I want to select some text by normal dragging and sublime start crazy one line below and also it select more portions of other lines. I was not paying attention and I can't see a way to reproduce this. This happens with these two dev builds.
Anyone seeing this?


Definitely seeing this too, occasionally. Are you, by any chance, using WordHighlight plugin? I'm not 100% sure yet, but it seems that selection glitching at least happens more often with it installed, both under Linux and Windows XP. The worst part is that I can't reproduce it properly, though.

What I can definitely say, is that when it happens, selecting text with mouse starts selection one line below of where it should actually be, and if done towards the end of the file, selection ends at the last symbol regardless of where the mouse is.
Last edited by DSHugo on Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DSHugo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 11:05 am

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby tito on Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:04 pm

I'm using WordHighlight. I disabled the add-on for a while after reading your comment, but it happened again. Very difficult to reproduce. I don't think WordHighlight is the problem. It just happened to me on dev builds. Not in stable.

Is there any way to help with an output, command or something to display some debug information?
Give APIs, let the community build the rest!
https://github.com/titoBouzout
tito
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby capnhud on Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:37 pm

jps wrote:Dev Build 2132 is out now, with buttons in the gutter for folding indented regions. You can disable them with the new fold_buttons file setting.


Instead of a triangles it seems the markers should be (+) or (-) in keeping with the Sublime look. Or reduce the size of the triangles.
capnhud
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:57 am

Re: Dev Build 2132

Postby atomi on Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:46 pm

tito wrote:I'm using WordHighlight. I disabled the add-on for a while after reading your comment, but it happened again. Very difficult to reproduce. I don't think WordHighlight is the problem. It just happened to me on dev builds. Not in stable.

Is there any way to help with an output, command or something to display some debug information?

ctrl+tilde
Code: Select all
sublime.log_commands(True)
atomi
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA US

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests