Sublime Forum

How to view in browser

Hello, I’m just starting to learn writing HTML & CSS. But I cannot find a way of viewing my work in a browser.
I downloaded the trial version to Windows Vista which is using I.E.9 as its default browser.
(I also have Safari and Chrome available)
Assistance much appreciated.

0 Likes

How do I 'view in browser'
Creating someway to run my code in a browser

To to Tools > New Plugin. Copy and paste this in the the plugin: [code]import sublime, sublime_plugin
import webbrowser

class OpenBrowserCommand(sublime_plugin.TextCommand):
def run(self,edit):
url = self.view.file_name()
webbrowser.open_new(url)[/code]

Save this in your User folder of Sublime’s packages.

Open up your User Keybindings. (Tools > Command Palette > “User Key bindings”)
Add this somewhere to the list: { "keys": "ctrl+shift+b"], "command": "open_browser" }

You can make the “keys” anything you want. Now when you’re in a HTML file, just press that command.

0 Likes

Thanks, I’ve carried out your instruction and it still doesn’t work. I would expect viewing in browser command an essential item in a text editor. Looks like I might have to go back to Textpad. I’m still not getting the full tool bar that shows on top of the ST2 window in the PSD Tuts tutorial. I wonder if this is specifically a Windows problem?

0 Likes

Do you mean Net Tuts? Because the “full tool bar” is called the command palette. To open it, press “ctrl+shift+p.” They type in what you want. To test if the plugin worked, though, do you mind opening ST2 and loading a HTML file. Then open the python terminal by pressing (control+`). Something should pop up at the bottom of the screen. Type or copy and paste the following: view.run_command("open_browser"). The html file should be opened in the browser. Let me know if it worked. If it did, you just need to fix your keybinding.

0 Likes