Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

How to step through search / replace

How to step through search / replace

Postby ShawnMcCool on Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:05 am

What is the key command to replace the next occurrence? I want to step through and determine whether or not i replace the occurrence or pass it over.
ShawnMcCool
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:47 pm
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands

Re: How to step through search / replace

Postby loremipsum on Wed Nov 30, 2011 12:02 pm

+1 !
loremipsum
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:10 pm

Re: How to step through search / replace

Postby adzenith on Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:16 pm

As far as I know, this does not exist. See e.g. my request from 2009 :( viewtopic.php?f=4&t=725&p=3009#p3009
I'm forced to copy whatever I want to replace with, and then press "find next" and "paste" a lot. Obviously this doesn't work for regular expression replaces, which I'm forced to do all at once or by clicking the replace button with the mouse.

I would really love for this command to exist.
On the plus side, four out of the five things I requested were implemented. Just not this one.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: How to step through search / replace

Postby jps on Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:30 am

There is a command for this, replace_next, but it's not bound to any keys by default. If you bind it, you should see the key binding appear in the Replace button's tool tip.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: How to step through search / replace

Postby adzenith on Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:35 am

Awesome! I had tried just "replace" and that didn't work.

I am so happy right now. :)
adzenith
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests