Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Bug (build 2164+): Paste includes indent

Bug (build 2164+): Paste includes indent

Postby madevilgenius on Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:21 am

If you copy something at the beginning of the line, pasting it will include the indent. Eg., let's say I have this:

Code: Select all
if (foo) {
    bar = foo +
}


If you select "bar" (but not the preceding whitespace indentation) and copy it, then paste it, after the "+", you get:

Code: Select all
if (foo) {
    bar = foo +     bar
}


Has probably existed since 2162, where the changelog has an entry about indentation and pasting.
madevilgenius
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:51 pm

Re: Bug (build 2164+): Paste includes indent

Postby jps on Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:39 pm

FWIW, this only happens if you use Paste and Indent, rather than Paste
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Bug (build 2164+): Paste includes indent

Postby madevilgenius on Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:21 pm

Ah, that's correct. I have cmd-V mapped to "paste and indent" because that's what makes the most sense in all cases. (It's what TextMate does by default.)
madevilgenius
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:51 pm

Re: Bug (build 2164+): Paste includes indent

Postby madevilgenius on Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:21 pm

It's still a bug and a regression, though. It makes no sense to include indentation when pasting into the middle of a line.
madevilgenius
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:51 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 29 guests