Sublime Forum

Two easy markdown questions

OK, I’m new to both Sublime Text and Markdown. I’m a writer, not a programmer, but ST2 looks like a perfect match for the way I like to work. And I want to work using simple Markdown tags. A couple of noob questions:

1. What does VIEW > SYNTAX > MARKDOWN do for me that working in Plain Text view does not?

2. I see I have the option of saving files with one of the “markdown” file extentions. What are the advantages there? I mean as opposed to simply saving in txt format?

I know these are probably idiotic-seeming questions, but I’m green.

Thanks,
Dutch

0 Likes

By setting the Syntax to Markdown, you are telling Sublime Text what lanuage you are using to write in. This means, when you type Markdown tags, Sublime Text can help you by coloring and autocompleting your text accordingly.

By saving the file with a markdown extension, you are telling any application that opens the file (Sublime Text included) that the text inside is written in markdown. That means the syntax will be set to Markdown and your tags and text will be colored, etc.

0 Likes

Many thanks, C0D312. That all makes good sense. I’m working now with a very slightly modified version of the Monokai theme (I just changed a couple of colors). But it’s not doing any Markdown-related coloring for me (even when I select that syntax and save in that format). What I’d really love is if the theme could throw a different background color behind heading lines-- i.e., if, say, a line with # heading 1 # could be one color, and lines with ## heading 2 ## could be a different color, and so on, through the different markdown heading levels. That would make the minimap fantastically useful to me. Are there themes that do that markdown coloring better than others? Theoretically, will every theme give me that kind of capability? Any pointers in that direction would be greatly appreciated.

D

0 Likes