Sublime Forum

Synchronizing ST2 over several machines

Hello :smile:

Iā€™m a proud and happy new owner of a ST2 license, but I am not a coder, so please bear with me, if and when I ask questions, to which all of you have always known all the answers :smiley:

Apart from its astonishing features as an editor, the main reason for my using it is I can use it on Windows and Linux: and so I installed it on my two machines ( both Windows and Linux Dual Boot).

So how do I easily synchronize those four installs (2 Windows 7 x64, 2 Linux (Ubuntu 12.04 x64))

How do I do that?

Thanks a lot!

0 Likes

I use the portable version of ST2 and have it installed in my Dropbox folder. That way it auto-syncs. Many other people store their data folder in a Git repository that they keep maintained and synced between machines.

0 Likes

Thank you :slight_smile:

So ā€œsynchronizingā€ means synchronizing the ā€œdataā€-folder, right?

• Couldnā€™t I simply copy my ā€œdataā€-folder to my web pace for synchronizing?
  • Will the packages work both on W7 and Linux?
0 Likes

As far as I know, yes - the data folder and its contents are all you need. Since I use the portable version, I just have the entire app in a dropbox folder, so Iā€™m not 100% certain on that.

As for the packages, all the default packages should be fine on any OS. Anything you add beyond that depends on the package and how it interacts with the OS. Iā€™ve got quite a few packages installed and Iā€™d be willing to bet that most (if not all) of them work just fine. Just be aware that some plugins have external dependencies that would have to be configured for each OS.

0 Likes