Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Getting out of Vintage Mode

Getting out of Vintage Mode

Postby austenmcrae on Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:50 pm

Hey all,

Testing out Vintage mode in st2, and while Esc will get me out, adding:

{ "keys": ["j", "j"], "command": "exit_insert_mode",
"context":
[
{ "key": "setting.command_mode", "operand": false },
{ "key": "setting.is_widget", "operand": false }
]
}

to my Default (OSX).sublime-keymap (from Preferences -> User Keybindings) doesn't seem to work (can type lots of j's though!).

Let me know if theres anything information that would help with debugging this - I have the latest binary from downloads for Mac, running 10.7...
austenmcrae
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Getting out of Vintage Mode

Postby highend on Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:00 pm

What happens when you enter "sublime.log_commands(True)" (without quotation marks) in the ST console?

E.g. I'm in command mode and press "i", I get:
command: enter_insert_mode

And when I press "jj", I get:
command: exit_insert_mode

What do you get?
highend
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: Getting out of Vintage Mode

Postby austenmcrae on Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:09 pm

For `i`:
command: enter_insert_mode

For `jj`:


(ie, nothing)

Pressing `Esc` does give me:
command: exit_insert_mode
austenmcrae
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Getting out of Vintage Mode

Postby iota on Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:54 pm

This is not working for me in 10.8. Pressing ``jj`` gives the following: command:
Code: Select all
set_motion {"linewise": true, "motion": "move", "motion_args": {"by": "lines", "extend": true, "forward": true}}


So i'm assuming ST2 is interpreting jj as me wanting to move down two lines. I do have a fast keyboard rate; not sure if that is playing a part in this.

Anybody know of a way I can have 'jj' function normally?
iota
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:43 pm

Re: Getting out of Vintage Mode

Postby austenmcrae on Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:22 am

Are you in command mode or insert mode?
austenmcrae
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Getting out of Vintage Mode

Postby austenmcrae on Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:38 pm

For those following, it looks like it might have been a plugin - I've removed ~/Library/Application\ Support/Sublime... and it seems to work (after re-enabling vintage and adding the keys back). If I can find the exact package that broke it, I'll follow up.
austenmcrae
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Getting out of Vintage Mode

Postby iota on Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:44 pm

@austenmcrae

Doh! of course I was in command mode. Unfortunately it does not work in insert mode either (i get nothing in the console). I will try pairing down packages and see what that does.
Code: Select all
ctrl + [
in the meantime...

Edit.

I removed my sublime data directory, and tried adding the "jj" binding to the fresh install but no dice. Really bummed.
iota
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:43 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 902Labs and 19 guests