Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby dreh23 on Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:58 am

Sometimes I open Sublime and I get an old version of my file. Twice already I lost several hours of coding
since I saved that old version on top of the newer edits. Is this a bug in sublime? I use the sftp plugin - can
this be related to a offline cache this plugin is generating?
Thank you for your time
ST2 Version 2.01 Build 2217 on Ubuntu 12.04
Linux cell-ds-20 3.2.0-40-generic #64-Ubuntu SMP Mon Mar 25 21:22:10 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
dreh23
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:51 am

Re: Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby adzenith on Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:45 pm

I believe that if you have unsaved changes when you close Sublime, then Sublime will cache the file and show you the unsaved changes when you reopen.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby iamntz on Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:07 am

Somehow related: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=10476

Long story short:

The argument is "What if you mess something up?"
Answer: Fix it. Any argument that one could lose two weeks of work by editing this way is absurd.


or, you could just use version control (wich is totally unprofessional) and avoid this kind of mess in the future.
iamntz
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:52 am
Location: Romania

Re: Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby mwb1100 on Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:08 am

I'm not sure I understand - of course having some sort of backup or version control is essential for your projects, but that isn't an excuse to not address a bug that causes data loss.
mwb1100
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:40 pm

Re: Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby iamntz on Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:44 am

@mwb1100: it's really not a bug, it's more like a feature :mrgreen:

Probably it's a good idea to try to revert to a freshly installed state and see if this problem persist.

In 2 years since i use sublime i never had this issue (and i'm pretty sure i didn't read anything similar on the forum), so it's either a problem of workflow or plugins.
iamntz
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:52 am
Location: Romania

Re: Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby dreh23 on Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:13 pm

Thank you all for your time.
adzenith wrote:I believe that if you have unsaved changes when you close Sublime, then Sublime will cache the file and show you the unsaved changes when you reopen.

I think it is related to this. I will provide more infos if it happends again. Maybe my workflow is flawed.
dreh23
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:51 am

Re: Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby deepcover on Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:57 pm

This has happened to me twice already. I couldn't figure out why my application was behaving like an older version until I realized that my code had reverted to the previous day's code. When I hit ctrl-z I received a message saying "Undo Revert" on the status bar and my latest code was restored. I don't know what caused my code to revert to the old saved version, but I don't like this one bit. If I cant trust this with my code then I can't use this.

I am running on Windows, Version 2.0.1 (build 2217)
Here are my installed packages
{
"installed_packages":
[
"BracketHighlighter",
"JsFormat",
"Package Control",
"SideBarEnhancements",
"SublimeCodeIntel",
"SublimeLinter",
"Theme - Soda"
]
}

I save my files all of the time. The last time I let my PC hibernate. I wonder if that has anything to do with it.
deepcover
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:47 pm

Re: Sublime caches old version - lost hours of coding

Postby col16 on Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:35 pm

Setting the preference "hot_exit" to false might help you...
col16
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:28 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests