Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby adzenith on Wed Sep 25, 2013 5:34 pm

I don't know what to do.
Sublime Text 3 has this bug where it stops reloading my preferences files. I can only get it to refresh them by quitting and restarting the program, because it has to reload them when it opens.
I have no symlinks, and I can remove everything in my packages folder, and it doesn't fix it.

Literally the only fix I've found is to delete the entire Sublime Text 3 folder in Application Support (even completely emptying it doesn't do the trick), then open Sublime to have it recreated, then simply copy all of my packages back in. Yes, the identical packages and settings under which it just wasn't working. I'll then get maybe a day of correct reloading before it stops. This is clearly a bug in Sublime, and it's existed for a long time.

This bugs the crap out of me. I will give you any information you desire about my setup or my system. Please just help me! I want to write plugins and literally every change I have to restart the entire program.

Thank you for your consideration.


*Edit: clarified that restarting Sublime Text does not actually fix the issue.
Last edited by adzenith on Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby tito on Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:21 am

wow, difficult, some possible solutions:
1. Install in another folder/drive
2. Use the portable version
3. When the problem popups, try to search all files sorted by last modified, and see if some is doing something nasty..
4. Create a pyton script/macro that open all the files sublime-settings and run Save, that should reload the settings of that file.......
5. Out of imagination
Give APIs, let the community build the rest!
https://github.com/titoBouzout
tito
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby qgates on Fri Sep 27, 2013 4:26 pm

Hmm. A sideways thought. Have you checked for errors and fixed the disk filesystem(s) recently? You don't mention the OS you're running, but sublime's reload mechanism will likely rely on the notify subsystem in the host OS. If anything's wrong with the filesystem, the notify system may misbehave - I've seen that before on Windows and Linux with other apps, though never with sublime.

Give it a try :)
qgates
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby adzenith on Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:30 am

tito wrote:wow, difficult, some possible solutions:
1. Install in another folder/drive
2. Use the portable version
3. When the problem popups, try to search all files sorted by last modified, and see if some is doing something nasty..
4. Create a pyton script/macro that open all the files sublime-settings and run Save, that should reload the settings of that file.......
5. Out of imagination

1. I only have one drive on this computer.
2. It's a Mac, so there's no portable version.
3. I'll try that next time.
4. The problem is that files don't reload. If you save them, Sublime just saves them and doesn't reload them. Saving them extra times doesn't help.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby adzenith on Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:31 am

qgates wrote:Hmm. A sideways thought. Have you checked for errors and fixed the disk filesystem(s) recently? You don't mention the OS you're running, but sublime's reload mechanism will likely rely on the notify subsystem in the host OS. If anything's wrong with the filesystem, the notify system may misbehave - I've seen that before on Windows and Linux with other apps, though never with sublime.

Give it a try :)

OS X, and no disk problems (just checked!). Also the fact that trashing the application data folder fixes it makes me think it's not a filesystem problem.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby adzenith on Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:12 pm

Happening again! Wooo!!!!
adzenith
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby facelessuser on Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:14 am

This happens to me on occasion too. So, you are not alone. I have not been able to find a solution. It only happens once in a while.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby adzenith on Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:48 am

My workaround is this:
Move "Installed Packages", "Packages", and my license file out of the data folder.
Delete the data folder.
Reopen Sublime, and quit without even putting in my license.
Delete the autogenerated "Installed Packages" and "Packages" folders.
Move the old "Installed Packages" and "Packages" back, along with the license.
Good to go.

@jps: obviously this isn't a problem with my packages, because I just move the old ones back in. Deleting all the contents of the data folder doesn't work; I actually have to delete the folder itself. Let me know if I can give you any other info, because I'd love to see a fix!
adzenith
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby jps on Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:24 am

In your initial post, you indicate that restarting Sublime Text fixes the issue, but then you say you also have to delete the data folder. Can you confirm which action fixes the issue?

If restarting the application doesn't help, and deleting the directory is required, then it points to an underlying issue in Apple's FSEvents API. It may be related to http://feedback.livereload.com/knowledg ... -of-certai, for example
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Super annoying reload bug: I don't know what else to do

Postby facelessuser on Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:42 am

Personally, I have mainly noticed this issue on Windows. I do most of my coding at work, and I only use Windows at work. For me, restarting fixes the issue. I haven't noticed it on my OSX machine, but since I don't code nearly as much on OSX, there is statistically less of a chance of me seeing it there.

So I don't think this issue only resides with Apple's API, or maybe adzenith's issues and mine are similar, but not the same.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 20 guests