Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Can I force the ST shortcut to open a new instance?

Can I force the ST shortcut to open a new instance?

Postby jrmathis on Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:38 am

Does anyone know of a way to force SublimeText to open in a new instance when I click the start menu or taskbar shortcut?

I've tried Googling, but all I seem to find is the exact opposite of what I'm looking for. Most of the results are people asking how to force ST to open everything in a single instance.

Thanks for your help!
jrmathis
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:33 am

Re: Can I force the ST shortcut to open a new instance?

Postby iamntz on Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:48 am

Ctrl+shift+n on windows does exactly this.
iamntz
 
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:52 am
Location: Romania

Re: Can I force the ST shortcut to open a new instance?

Postby jrmathis on Fri Nov 01, 2013 2:33 am

Thank you for that. However, my specific use case is a bit different:

I use VirtuaWin for multiple desktops to separate my projects. I'd like to open a new instance by clicking on the taskbar icon, when there are no SublimeText windows in one desktop. Currently, clicking the taskbar icon will open using the previous instance, which brings that window to the current desktop.

I hope that makes sense, and thanks for your time!
jrmathis
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:33 am


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests