Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

[ST3] Outside changes not pulled in

[ST3] Outside changes not pulled in

Postby coleever on Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:37 pm

It seems like if some other software makes a change to a file you currently have open in Sublime Text 3, ST3 doesn't seem to pull in those changes without having to close the file and re-open it. ST2 would automatically reload a file if it detected a change.

Anyone else having this problem?
coleever
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:53 pm

Re: [ST3] Outside changes not pulled in

Postby simonzack on Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:54 am

This works fine for me on build 3059.
simonzack
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 5:42 pm

Re: [ST3] Outside changes not pulled in

Postby coleever on Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:13 pm

simonzack wrote:This works fine for me on build 3059.


Odd.

Someone else in my office uses ST3 and is having the same issue too, we've even tried reinstalling ST3 a few times with no success. Maybe it's our dev environment?

Hopefully I can explain how this is happening well enough (don't judge our dev environment, I didn't set it up :oops: ). The files we work on are accessed through a mapped network drive of our dev server on the local network. The files are then version controlled in repos with Tortoise SVN. If someone makes a commit to a repo and I pull an update to receive those changes, ST3 doesn't think those files changed so it won't refresh them if I had those files open.

ST2 did this automatically but I have to close and re-open the file with ST3.
coleever
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:53 pm

Re: [ST3] Outside changes not pulled in

Postby snorga on Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:38 pm

For me the following settings have helped the issues:

Code: Select all
   "hot_exit": false,
   "ignore_inodes": true,


Most of the times it does detected changes, but at some time, it just stoppes detecting any changes until restart.
Windows ST3, shared folder is a linux server.
source version system is git. (running on server, got a ssh terminal open which i control git through)

This is a reason for me considering to stop using ST, as i risk overriding a newer file :-(
snorga
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:07 am

Re: [ST3] Outside changes not pulled in

Postby neongrau on Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:36 pm

snorga wrote:... as i risk overriding a newer file :-(


This just happened today. Hell my coworker is now mad at me :shock: :( :cry:
neongrau
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:40 am

Re: [ST3] Outside changes not pulled in

Postby Jimbly on Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:46 pm

My team is all also seeing this issue. We're running Sublime Text 3 on Mac OSX 10.9.2, with our files on remote servers or VMs pulled in either through regular samba shares, sshfs mounts, or Transmit SFTP mounts. Usually the files are being changed on the remote machine (e.g. a git pull on a remote shell session), not modified by another program on the same machine (e.g. Tortoise).

Files seem to sometimes reload when first starting Sublime, then reloading stops working.
Jimbly
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:42 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 19 guests