Sublime Forum

Sublime Text 3 crashes on start up

This is only an issue with SB3. SB2 works fine. When i open SB3, it works for about 2 seconds before saying its not responding. Not only will it crash, but it will effect my entire computer. It will cause all my applications to be slow and unresponsive and stop my internet from working for quite some time and its a pain to even close since it causes task manager to freeze. It will eventually work if i keep it open for about 10 minutes but its a real pain. Ive tried uninstalling. Didnt work. Dont think its a memory problem since it has this effect even when SB3 is the only thing running. I do have a ton of packages installed if that means anything. Help would be appreciated, thank you.

EDIT: the same thing happens after i wait for 10 minutes then try to make a new python file.

0 Likes

Sounds very like something I get quite a bit there. I am just a web designer, but I can give you advice which worked, coming from several friendly engineers a while back. Your issues partly may result from poor data store health - that’s the system area in Windows where Core Services thread throught SXS directory runtimes. Same general process on Mac. Now, you did not indicate your OS, but no problem, just give you two pretty much identical ‘system’ cleanups. First, please get rid of your corrupted ST installation. Uninstall and delete anything Sublime floating around Windows Program and App Data folders, or Mac Appplication folders.

System data store cleanup for Windows need two commands, entered in the admin command prompt:
sfc /scannow
dism /online /cleanup-image /checkhealth [then dism again, but with full SXS scan…]
dism /online /cleanup-image /scanhealth [and, if you have original Windows installation media, D: is the drive containing that media…]
dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth /image:D:\sources\install.wim