Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Basic plugins question.

Basic plugins question.

Postby edrubins on Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:22 am

I'm new to Sublime 2 Text editor. I'm not, however new to programming editors. But I'm missing something basic about Sublime 2 plugins - how to use them. In particular I can't get figure out how to diff two files using the Diff plug in. I see that there is a Side Bar.sublime-menu file in the Packages/Diff folder, but right clicking on the side bar Open Files sidebar only shows a Close option. Right clicking on the Open Folders sidebar shows more options, but none of them are the Diff menu. The Diff context menu (Show Unchanged Changes) is active if I make a change in a file.

So what am I missing here?

Best, Ed
edrubins
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:04 am

Re: Basic plugins question.

Postby jps on Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:45 am

The diff command will show up on the context menu if you select two files under the folders section of the side bar
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Basic plugins question.

Postby edrubins on Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:28 pm

jps wrote:The diff command will show up on the context menu if you select two files under the folders section of the side bar

I'm assuming that 'context menu' means the menu that pops up when you right click on the side bar. When I do I get three options: Rename, Delete File and Open Containing Folder. I get the same three options no matter how files are selected. Not sure if it matters but I'm using build 2126.
edrubins
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:04 am

Re: Basic plugins question.

Postby edrubins on Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:47 am

I sort of stumbled upon the answer. Diff does not appear in the context menu if Open Files is hidden in the side bar. Neither of the files being Diff'ed has to be open, but the Open Files section must be visible in the side bar. Is this by design ("Any documented bug is automatically a feature" ;) )?
edrubins
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:04 am

Re: Basic plugins question.

Postby tito on Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:00 am

Bravo! clap clap, resolved the mystery.
Well I consider it a bug, I use tabs instead of Open files list.
Regards
Give APIs, let the community build the rest!
https://github.com/titoBouzout
tito
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Basic plugins question.

Postby edrubins on Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:23 pm

tito wrote:Bravo! clap clap, resolved the mystery.
Well I consider it a bug, I use tabs instead of Open files list.
Regards

I use tabs as well, but that doesn't seem to affect the Diff context menu.
edrubins
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:04 am


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot], Exabot [Bot] and 16 guests