Sublime Forum

Multiple cmd in build system?

is it possible to run multiple commands in one build system?

Among other combinations I tried to do something like this:

[code]{
“cmd”:

{"open", "-a", "/Applications/Firefox.app"},
	{"compass", "compile", "$file_path/.."},
	{"csslint", "$file_path/../assets/css/"}
],

“selector”: “source.sass”
}[/code]

but nothing seems to work :open_mouth: the cmd array containing arrays doesn’t work either …

any ideas?

0 Likes

Is it possible to compile and execute FORTRAN in one build system?
Python build - dynamic env / multiple cmd

Unfortunately, there is no support for multiple commands in a build system. I ran into this issue when working with java. Your best option is to make a bash file with the commands and have a build system that runs the bash file. I’m not a expert when it comes to build systems, so that’s as far as I can help.

Hope that points you in the right direction.

0 Likes

seriously? … only one command? If its just one command in my build then why would I even need a build system :wink:

The problem with running a shell is that I can’t use the variables provided by Sublime. Mh … maybe as parameter? You guys think that works? Any experience with that?

0 Likes

please feel free to support this feature :smile: sublimetext.userecho.com/topic/8 … ld-system/

0 Likes

Hi,

I just found out (quite a rookie in build systems) how the command is passed to the OS. Its just a concatenation of the elements in the array, separated by spaces. This means you can enter multiple commands, with a separator that your OS understands. For instance for the windows CMD screen, its an & (or a && and only continues with the next command if the previous succeeded. See also microsoft.com/resources/docu … x?mfr=true , its for XP but worked for me in 7.)

The code below sends the line

to the windows shell.

In linux you can use the ‘;’ to separate commands.