Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Unable to run Sublime2 on install Windows 7

Unable to run Sublime2 on install Windows 7

Postby silentmobius on Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:01 pm

I am getting an error about a weak reference to 'classobj' object after installing the X64 version of the latest sublime 2 texteditor (2182).

My python path is K:\Toolchains\Windows7\X64\sig1\Python-2.7.1\...

Do I need to point it to the python directory in the install path? Is there anyway python 2.7 and 2.6 can co-exist on the same windows box and have this run? It seems like if there is an extern dependency explicitly on python 2.6, we would at least have the option to compile or install this application against another targeted version.

Error is:

Unable to run package setup

Failed to load module

Traceback (most recent call last):
File ".\PacketSetup.py", line 4, in <module>
import glob
File ".\glob.py", line 4, in <module>
File ".\os.py", line 398, in <module>
File ".\UserDict.py", line 83, in <module>
File "K:\Toolchains\Windows7\X64\sig1\Python-2.7.1\Lib\abc.py", line 109, in register
if issubclass(subclass, cls):
File "K:\toolchains\Windows7\X64\sig1\Python=2.7.1\Lib\abc.py", line
151, in __subclasscheck__
if subclass in cls.__abc_cache:
File
"K:\Toolchain\Windows7\X64\sig1\Python-2.7.1\Lib\_weakrefset.py",
line 69, in __contains__
return ref(item) in self.data
TypeError: cannot create weak reference to 'classobj' object
silentmobius
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: Unable to run Sublime2 on install Windows 7

Postby mbajohr on Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:39 am

Sublime has it's own python, used for the plugins.

And yes, ST2 has no problems to coexist with any installed python. I'm running ST2, python 2.7 and 3.2 on W7-64.
Seems like it's a 3rd party package problem.
Do you have problems with a plain installation of ST2?
mbajohr
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:16 pm

Re: Unable to run Sublime2 on install Windows 7

Postby gmgauthier on Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:12 pm

I was having the same problem, running python 2.7.1

When run from the desktop launcher, I saw this:
Image

My PYTHONPATH:
Code: Select all
C:\opt\win\python27\Lib;C:\opt\win\python27\Lib\site-packages;C:\opt\win\python27\DLLs;C:\opt\win\python27\lib\plat-win;C:\opt\win\python27\lib\lib-tk;


abc.py does exist in the Lib directory, but research tells me that for 2.x python, abc is supposed to be a builtin.

I renamed all the modules:
Code: Select all
__test__abc.py
__test__abc.pyc
__test__abc.pyo


And reran the executable on the menu, and everything WORKED! :D
Last edited by gmgauthier on Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gmgauthier
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:13 pm

Re: Unable to run Sublime2 on install Windows 7

Postby silentmobius on Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:45 pm

getting rid of my goofy PYTHONPATH environment variable also worked fine for me. I noticed on my home pc I don't even have this defined and can run python scripts fine.
silentmobius
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: Unable to run Sublime2 on install Windows 7

Postby gmgauthier on Wed Mar 07, 2012 6:00 pm

silentmobius wrote:getting rid of my goofy PYTHONPATH environment variable also worked fine for me. I noticed on my home pc I don't even have this defined and can run python scripts fine.


Well, some of us need to maintain a PYTHONPATH for various reasons...
gmgauthier
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:13 pm

Re: Unable to run Sublime2 on install Windows 7

Postby gmgauthier on Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:03 pm

For those who do need to maintain a regular PYTHONPATH at the system level, here's a little batch command to eliminate the problem of the abc.py module, without having to rename abc.py, or mess up your normal python command-line console:

Code: Select all
@ECHO OFF
SET "PYTHONPATH=.;C:\path\to\your\sublime;C:\path\to\your\sublime\python26;"
start /B sublime_text.exe %*
exit


I unzipped the "python26.zip" in the installation directory, which is why the extra directory is on my path.

Anyway, put this batch in a file called something like "start_sublime.cmd" in your sublime installation directory, and then create a shortcut to that batch file on your desktop or wherever. It sets the python path for sublime temporarily to allow it to pull whatever it needs from the python26 libraries, but leaves your general system setting alone.

Hope this helps.
gmgauthier
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:13 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 29 guests