Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Can't Launch Sublime Text

Can't Launch Sublime Text

Postby klintron on Fri May 11, 2012 12:19 am

OS: Windows 7.

A week or two ago I installed the WordCount plugin. Everything's been working fine, but today when I try to open Sublime Text I get an error message:

"Error trying to parse settings: Expected value in C:\Users\kl\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Packages\User\WordCount.sublime-settings:1:1"

I tried getting rid of the WordCount package, but no dice - I'm guessing I need to change settings file somewhere to get it to stop even looking for the WordCount plugin.
klintron
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 12:14 am

Re: Can't Launch Sublime Text

Postby quarnster on Tue May 15, 2012 7:02 am

klintron wrote:"Error trying to parse settings: Expected value in C:\Users\kl\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Packages\User\WordCount.sublime-settings:1:1"

Did you delete that file also?
quarnster
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Can't Launch Sublime Text

Postby James Ingram on Tue May 15, 2012 8:45 am

Windows Vista 64bit Ultimate

After editing my user preferences and forgetting a comma, Sublime gave me an error message for that file, and did not launch. So I edited the file with another program (replacing the comma). Now Sublime still does not launch. What do I do?

best,
James
James Ingram
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Can't Launch Sublime Text

Postby quarnster on Tue May 15, 2012 9:59 am

You have to kill the running session also. Press ctrl+shift+escape to bring up the task manager, find sublime_text.exe in the list and kill the process. Now you should be able to launch it again.

BTW jps, this happens when an error dialogue shows up before the main Sublime Text 2 window does when launching the program on Windows platforms. OS X and Linux start fine when there's an error dialogue.
quarnster
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Can't Launch Sublime Text

Postby klintron on Fri May 18, 2012 6:56 pm

Ah, that's what it was - I didn't notice that the settings file was actually in a separate directory from the rest of the plugin. I deleted the settings file and the editor launches fine now (too bad about the WordCount plugin though...)
klintron
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 12:14 am

Re: Can't Launch Sublime Text

Postby James Ingram on Sun May 20, 2012 12:04 pm

Ah! Thanks for the info. Everything is now working fine again.

best,
James
James Ingram
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 2:44 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests