Sublime Forum

How on earth do you move files?

I’ve been using Sublime for about 2 months now and I really love it. One thing that is driving me crazy is that I can’t figure out how to move files around within it. Let’s say I have a file called foobar.js in the root of my project. How would I move it into the assets/js/ folder? what if I wanted to move it out of the assets/js folder and put it back in the root of my project? do I have to open finder to do this or am I just totally glossing over some feature of sublime?

help me sublime text forum, you’re my only hope.

0 Likes

This is the best plugin I’ve found for moving files around: github.com/titoBouzout/SideBarEnhancements, but I still prefer Far Manager.

0 Likes

I use QuickFileMove plugin. It’s more of a renamer but it should work.

0 Likes

Having to install a plugin just to move a file? That’s awfully dumb, isn’t it?

0 Likes

fwiw you can move files by renaming and typing in a (relative) path.

4 Likes

Thanks a lot man. That’s much better.
Although adding a drag’n’drop option won’t hurt either. Hope decisions like these don’t end up forcing people to move to VS Code, leaving me once again in the minority. :sweat_smile:

1 Like

What Follows Maybe/Is Probably A Load Of Old Waffle:

"I’m gonna leap to the defense of the team" (If I could put that remark in a few more quotation marks I would). The reason I say this:
Is if only I had known what I was about to tell you 2 yrs ago it’d have changed my perceptions of ST a bit and maybe eased some of my exasperation at/of/due to Sublime…

In short it was written by 3 people, which if know any thing about code you’ll realise it’s a amazing acheivement.