Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Save Macro... is a NOOP for me

Save Macro... is a NOOP for me

Postby fburleigh on Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:16 pm

I recorded a simple macro (a bunch of search/replace operations), then told ST2 2218 (on OS X 10.8) to stop recording. I asked ST2 to save my macro from the menu item, but nothing happened. So that's a problem. And what's the chance that macro's code is sitting around in the file system somewhere?

Thanks.
fburleigh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:40 pm

Re: Save Macro... is a NOOP for me

Postby C0D312 on Sat Aug 18, 2012 10:06 pm

Macros don't support find/replace. That's why it's not saving.
C0D312
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:23 am

Re: Save Macro... is a NOOP for me

Postby rpardee on Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:37 am

C0D312 wrote:Macros don't support find/replace. That's why it's not saving.


Ugh--I just ran into this. I've got a simple regex I use to troll some log files for trouble & would like to capture this in a macro so I can bind it to a key combo & just e.g., hit ctrl-e to jump from one trouble spot to the next.

If macros won't serve me, is there another way to get the functionality I want?

Thanks!

-Roy
rpardee
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:51 pm

Re: Save Macro... is a NOOP for me

Postby ahbrown42 on Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:22 pm

So why don't Macros support replaces? A key element for me and a macro would be to do many automated search and replace functions and even fancy stuff like multi-line updates etc.

I will go add this to feature discussions. Even V3 does not support this/
ahbrown42
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 8:30 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests