Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Bug: screen display won't update

Bug: screen display won't update

Postby oats on Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:04 pm

I'm experiencing a bug occasionally with the latest beta, 20091212, where sometimes after bringing up the window after being minimized, the window contents are blank. Not black, but showing whatever pixels were behind Sublime Text before restoring the window. I try moving the window around, but it never updates. Eventually I quit and re-launch, and it works fine again.

Win XP, NVidia graphics card
oats
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:39 pm

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby myel on Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:05 pm

did you try running it with --opengl ?

http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/command-line
myel
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:26 pm

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby oats on Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:04 pm

wasn't using opengl. the thing is, it works for hours at a time, but after being minimized for a while, I come into the office the next day and the window is empty. the menu bar and window title bar are active, but nothing else.

i just tried opengl, so far i don't like it. things flicker and aren't as smooth. i.e. menus flicker when first opening, and sometimes leave behind redraw artifacts.
oats
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:39 pm

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby jps on Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:49 pm

oats wrote:...I come into the office the next day and the window is empty...


This is a common issue with Direct3D, unfortunately. It doesn't happen with OpenGL, it's a shame that it has other issues for you.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby willi297 on Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:43 pm

It would be nice if something could be done to resolve this issue with Direct3D, like being able to reset the renderer if it hangs. Or even a menu item to trigger the renderer to reset, since the menu still works when you are in this state. Please please!
Greg Williams
Atomic Embedded, USA
http://atomicembedded.com
willi297
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:29 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby oats on Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:55 pm

willi297 wrote:It would be nice if something could be done to resolve this issue with Direct3D

agree. I run into this issue several times a day now. the current fix is not too bad: quit sublime and restart, the previous state of open files is restored. but shouldn't sublime text be able to determine when Direct3D has failed and somehow fix itself?
oats
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:39 pm

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby oats on Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:26 pm

happened again to me today. normally i don't mind restarting sublime, but this time i was prompted to save files... it is difficult to make the decision to save changes to a file you can't see. i really would like a way to "restart" only the Direct3D without losing whatever work i may have in progress (unsaved).
oats
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:39 pm

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby gpfsmurf on Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:36 am

oats wrote:happened again to me today. normally i don't mind restarting sublime, but this time i was prompted to save files... it is difficult to make the decision to save changes to a file you can't see.

You can use "Exit and preserve session" instead of "exit"
gpfsmurf
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:31 pm

Re: Bug: screen display won't update

Postby oats on Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:28 pm

gpfsmurf wrote:You can use "Exit and preserve session" instead of "exit"

thank you, had not noticed that before!
oats
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:39 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests