Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Portable Sublime

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby jps on Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:20 pm

I've added support for a --data command line parameter in the latest beta (20080619). To use it:
* Copy the folder C:\Program Files\Sublime Text to the USB key, or install it there.
* Copy your Application Data\Sublime Text folder to the USB key, so it resides at something along the lines of E:\Sublime Text Data (Optional, but do this if you want to keep your current settings)
* Run Sublime Text off the USB key with --data "E:\Sublime Text Data" on the command line

Let me know if you run into any issues!
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby jps on Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:36 am

That'll teach me to make changes late at night... will fix for the next beta.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby jps on Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:35 pm

This should be fine in 20080623
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby gpfsmurf on Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:29 pm

When I right click on a file and select "Edit with Sublime", I'd like it to use my custom Sublime Text Data folder.

Is there a way to do this?
gpfsmurf
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:31 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby jps on Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:15 pm

The context menu entry is set via the registry key "HKCR\Shell\Open with Sublime Text\command", if you edit the path referenced there it should be fine.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby gpfsmurf on Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:48 am

Context menu works, thanks.

I have another problem now. When I launch sublime with the --data option, if sublime is already running, it'll create a new empty tab called "Sublime Text Data", modified and unsaved.
gpfsmurf
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:31 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby gpfsmurf on Thu Feb 26, 2009 6:44 pm

(bump)

I still have the same problem with the latest beta: if Sublime is already running, and I launch it again with the --data option, it'll open a new file with the data folder's name.

Is it a bug or am I doing something wrong?

This is the command I am using with WinSCP:
"X:\PortableApps\Sublime Text\sublimetext.exe" --data "X:\PortableApps\Sublime Text Data" !.!
where !.! is substituted with the complete file path
gpfsmurf
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:31 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby jps on Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:17 pm

It's an issue with sublime; command line arguments aren't yet handed properly when passed to a second instance.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Portable Sublime

Postby jps on Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:12 am

gpfsmurf wrote:I still have the same problem with the latest beta: if Sublime is already running, and I launch it again with the --data option, it'll open a new file with the data folder's name.


This is now fixed in the current beta.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 25 guests