Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Autocomplete List "Hint"

Autocomplete List "Hint"

Postby vostok4 on Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:10 pm

I would *love* if we can add autocomplete hints to the list of commands. IE at the bottom of the autocomplete box, there is a text field that shows up if the current autocomplete option selected has a "hint" or "detail" defined. IE:

Image

That would make the autocomplete so SO killer (especially if we could set those hints from API) because you can extend the entire PHP autocomplete list with hints from the php website, and you can write where a variable is defined etc when writing an intellisense plugin.
vostok4
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: Autocomplete List "Hint"

Postby n00ge on Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:26 pm

I'd love to see hints tied in as well. Posted to UserEcho.
http://sublimetext.userecho.com/feedback/23681-/
http://twitter.com/n00ge
Sublime Text 3 dev builds | OS X 10.8.2 & Ubuntu 13.04
n00ge
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:23 am

Re: Autocomplete List "Hint"

Postby fractalbit on Sat May 14, 2011 3:29 pm

Hello, how can i have autocomplete for php functions? I am searching a whole day without luck :( I don't care about the hints, i just want to write "mysql_fe" press ctrl+space and propose for example "mysql_fetch_array". Please help a noob with sublime text.
fractalbit
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 3:27 pm

Re: Autocomplete List "Hint"

Postby bizoo on Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:21 pm

A little shameless bump for this great idea...

And in the somewhat same subject:
  • What about some kind of in-code hint ? I think it's a persistent request.
    Very useful to show some information right in your sight. Reading the status bar (or console like) messages somewhat break your workflow by the need to look at another part of the windows.

  • And for the status bar messages, it's easy to miss a message that your not waiting for, like file reloading.
    Something like an overlay window (semi transparent message that doesn't steal the focus and disappear automatically after a few seconds) for this kind of event could be nice.
    This way you couldn't miss it but it doesn't break your workflow too much.

Thanks to think about it and thanks again to simplify my life with Sublime Text :D
Attachments
st2_hint.png
st2_hint.png (8.59 KiB) Viewed 4194 times
bizoo
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Switzerland


Return to Ideas and Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests