Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby Nilium on Sun Aug 12, 2012 12:18 am

This is an issue that came up on IRC and I wasn't sure if there was a solution or not. Basically, we needed a way to bind multiple commands to be run in a given order to a single keyboard shortcut. Ordinarily I'd say to just use macros, but as it turns out, you can't use a macro to show the find panel or anything like that, so this is the solution I came up with: a command that runs multiple commands in whichever context the command needs to be run in.

The problem we had was emulating something like Emacs's Ctrl+W, which apparently does roughly the same thing as hitting Cmd+D and Cmd+F, putting the selected text into the find panel. I don't know that there's any good, generic way to handle getting the selected text into the find panel other than simple modifying your preferences, so this doesn't address that. So, macros won't do it and as far as I know a key binding is limited to a single command. Clearly the solution is a command that runs multiple commands (note: this is not actually clear and is probably insane). Basically, we wanted to be able to do this:

Code: Select all
[
  { "keys": ["ctrl+w"],
    "command": "run_multiple_commands",
    "args": {
      "commands": [
        {"command": "find_under_expand", "context": "window"},
        {"command": "slurp_find_string", "context": "window"},
        {"command": "show_panel", "args": {"panel": "find"}, "context": "window"}
      ]}}
]

(Edit: Updated binding to add slurp_find_string which was indirectly pointed out by adzenith. That should make find_selected_text unneeded.)

But you can't do this normally. So, what do you do? Well, you do what I just pasted up there, but you also install this plugin down here:

Code: Select all
# run_multiple_commands.py
import sublime, sublime_plugin

# Takes an array of commands (same as those you'd provide to a key binding) with
# an optional context (defaults to view commands) & runs each command in order.
# Valid contexts are 'text', 'window', and 'app' for running a TextCommand,
# WindowCommands, or ApplicationCommand respectively.
class RunMultipleCommandsCommand(sublime_plugin.TextCommand):
  def exec_command(self, command):
    if not 'command' in command:
      raise Exception('No command name provided.')

    args = None
    if 'args' in command:
      args = command['args']

    # default context is the view since it's easiest to get the other contexts
    # from the view
    context = self.view
    if 'context' in command:
      context_name = command['context']
      if context_name == 'window':
        context = context.window()
      elif context_name == 'app':
        context = sublime
      elif context_name == 'text':
        pass
      else:
        raise Exception('Invalid command context "'+context_name+'".')

    # skip args if not needed
    if args is None:
      context.run_command(command['command'])
    else:
      context.run_command(command['command'], args)

  def run(self, edit, commands = None):
    if commands is None:
      return # not an error
    for command in commands:
      self.exec_command(command)



There you have it, a multiple-command-running command. It has a special context option for commands so you can run application and window commands as well (which is where I suspect macros are failing — they may only work with TextCommands, but I don't know). See the comment block above the method for more on that. Aside from that option, you just do the same thing you would if you were making a normal binding, only the arguments to the command is 'commands', an array of commands. Really, the example is probably easier to understand than any explanation I'll provide, so just look at that until it makes sense.

Also, in case you're wondering why it's "run_multiple_commands" and not just "run_commands," that's because I figure 1) it's easier to tell it apart from "run_command" and 2) "run_commands" may later be added (I don't know, but it's possible). I wouldn't want to have things blow up because an update conflicted with my command. As such, it's a slightly longer and noticeable name.

There's probably no reason to make this a package and throw it on Package Control when it's mainly a utility thing for people to make use of rather than functionality that's automatically available to you (such as you get with, say, a language package). Just plunk it in your User directory and it should be good enough. That's it, now you can go on your way.
Last edited by Nilium on Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nilium
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:22 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby C0D312 on Sun Aug 12, 2012 12:30 am

Awesome. I was planning on throwing something like this together myself. Often when I right a plugin, I want to bind it something without swallowing the command. This plugin could make my life a lot easier. Thanks.
C0D312
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:23 am

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby facelessuser on Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:17 am

Looks cool. I will have to give this a try. Thanks.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1575
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby adzenith on Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:08 pm

If you just want to put the selected text into the find panel, you can also hit cmd+e.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby Nilium on Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:43 pm

adzenith wrote:If you just want to put the selected text into the find panel, you can also hit cmd+e.

Yeah, but that doesn't show the find panel nor select the current word. It does mean I could add an extra command to the above binding, but otherwise it doesn't actually do what's needed.
Nilium
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:22 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby Jazz555 on Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:29 am

Nilium wrote:
adzenith wrote:If you just want to put the selected text into the find panel, you can also hit cmd+e.

Yeah, but that doesn't show the find panel nor select the current word. It does mean I could add an extra command to the above binding, but otherwise it doesn't actually do what's needed.

I agree with you. :)
Jazz555
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:26 am

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby sashabe on Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:45 am

Thanks for this plugin! Is it possible to implement setting a delay between commands? For example, to execute a command after build requires a couple of seconds of waiting before the building process finishes.
UPDATE:
here's how it goes - we need to change the # skip args if not needed if-else block to:
Code: Select all
    # skip args if not needed
    if args is None:
      sublime.set_timeout(lambda: context.run_command(command['command']),2000)
    else:
      sublime.set_timeout(lambda: context.run_command(command['command'], args),2000)

Would be better if we could set a delay before a certain command in the key bindings file, but this version basically works too.
sashabe
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:23 am

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby Stefano.Rausch on Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:22 pm

Hi Nilium,

Thanks a lot for the code - nice job!

I have used it to have a ( simple ) 2 Columns Layout Management - see https://gist.github.com/StefanoRausch/4953979.

Cheers
Stefano.Rausch
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:05 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby lawlist on Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:23 pm

Thank you for the plugin -- greatly appreciated !!! This is a really easy method to chain together predefined plugins.
lawlist
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:47 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby lawlist on Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:51 pm

After several hours of experimenting, I was unable to get the lambda timeout code to work with this particular plugin. I ended up including a lambda timeout statement within the particular plugin that was being chained as a workaround. If anyone could please provide a few keymap examples of how to use the lambda timeout code proposed by sashabe, that would be greatly appreciated.
lawlist
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:47 pm

Next

Return to Plugin Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests