Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby skuroda on Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:13 am

lawlist wrote:After several hours of experimenting, I was unable to get the lambda timeout code to work with this particular plugin. I ended up including a lambda timeout statement within the particular plugin that was being chained as a workaround. If anyone could please provide a few keymap examples of how to use the lambda timeout code proposed by sashabe, that would be greatly appreciated.


I don't have any example, but I'm not really sure what sashabe was trying to do. Using set_timeout will in fact cause the commands to be delayed by the specified time. But note that the method will return immediately. The subsequent commands will be issued with the the same timeout, but issued "instantaneously", so I don't think you would get the delay between commands you want. I could be wrong though, I didn't test it. I was linking to this post and decided to browse through the thread while I was at it :)
skuroda
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:11 am

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby lawlist on Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:29 pm

Yes, skuroda, that does indeed explain the behavior I was experiencing with the sashabe code modification. Thank you.
lawlist
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:47 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby certainlyakey on Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:29 am

Hi everybody, it's the same sashabe, I was forced to register under new user name because the forum doesn't allow you to reset passwords if forgotten.
Here's a bit modified version of plugin which allows custom delays to be given for each executed command. If no argument is present the delay=0.
To skuroda - I experienced no problems with delay working on Windows and Mac.
Code: Select all
#http://www.sublimetext.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=8677&sid=6152a4d1c6d6bf2b92893b69b8b34490&start=10
# run_multiple_commands.py
import sublime, sublime_plugin

# Takes an array of commands (same as those you'd provide to a key binding) with
# an optional context (defaults to view commands) & runs each command in order.
# Valid contexts are 'text', 'window', and 'app' for running a TextCommand,
# WindowCommands, or ApplicationCommand respectively.
class RunMultipleCommandsCommand(sublime_plugin.TextCommand):
  def exec_command(self, command):
    if not 'command' in command:
      raise Exception('No command name provided.')

    args = None
    if 'args' in command:
      args = command['args']

    # default context is the view since it's easiest to get the other contexts
    # from the view
    context = self.view
    if 'context' in command:
      context_name = command['context']
      if context_name == 'window':
        context = context.window()
      elif context_name == 'app':
        context = sublime
      elif context_name == 'text':
        pass
      else:
        raise Exception('Invalid command context "'+context_name+'".')

    if 'delay' in command:
      delay = command['delay']
    else:
      delay = 0

    # skip args if not needed
    if args is None:
      sublime.set_timeout(lambda: context.run_command(command['command']),delay)
    else:
      sublime.set_timeout(lambda: context.run_command(command['command'], args),delay)

  def run(self, edit, commands = None):
    if commands is None:
      return # not an error
    for command in commands:
      # sublime.set_timeout(lambda: self.perform_action(view),2500)
      self.exec_command(command)


Below is an example of key config:
Code: Select all
{ "keys": ["ctrl+alt+s"],
    "command": "run_multiple_commands",
    "args": {
      "commands": [
        {"command": "next_view", "context": "window","delay":2500},
        {"command": "sftp_upload_file", "context": "window","delay":2500},
        {"command": "prev_view", "context": "window","delay":0}
]}},
certainlyakey
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby skuroda on Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:32 pm

I just ran your plugin (replaced sftp_upload_file with save and changed the context accordingly). The save occurs after 2.5 seconds. I think lawlist wanted the commands to occur in such a way that the save would execute after 5 seconds had passed. I tested on W7 x64 build 3046.
skuroda
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:11 am

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby filtercake on Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:42 pm

Hi.

I tried this to execute a bash script on save (synching files to a remote server). However, only the save command is executed. Does this solution work with external scripts?

Code: Select all
[
  { "keys": ["f2"],
    "command": "run_multiple_commands",
    "args": {
      "commands": [
        {
          "command": "save"
        },
        {
          "command": "exec",
          "args": { "cmd": ["/Users/myusername/scripts/myscript"] }
        }
      ]
    }
  }
]



Binding the script alone to a key does work and I can see it being executed in the Sublime Text console.
filtercake
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:37 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby unphased on Sat Aug 10, 2013 4:47 am

So, as far as I can tell this functionality is basically fundamental to being able to define repeated commands, i.e. this is the equivalent of concatenation in a vimscript map.

Will this become the standard way of scripting keys for vintage mode or all of sublime text? It would appear that the alternative is to extract out whatever behavior it is you want and make a whole plugin for it, which is perhaps not completely absurd but a heckuva lot more work than e.g. writing a new vim bind in the vimrc!

Even defining the new JSON definition using this plugin is much harder than in most anything else... I just really wish there was a more clean way to do it.

I really appreciate the work to make this function, though. Good job. :D
unphased
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 5:16 am

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby dex on Wed Sep 11, 2013 12:26 pm

Is there any way to get this working with ST3?

I've tried placing it in the same folder as I do in my ST2 (where it works like charm), but I'm not able to get it working..

Any help?

Thanks!
dex
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 12:25 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby adzenith on Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:38 pm

Nilium: is this available as a standalone package? If not, would you be up for making one or okay if I made one?
Thanks!
adzenith
 
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby jjforums on Wed May 07, 2014 10:52 pm

I'm trying to use chained commands with SublimeREPL but it's not working, any tips?

Code: Select all
[
   {"keys": ["ctrl+alt+b"],
       "command": "run_multiple_commands",
       "args": {
          "commands": [
             {"command": "save"},
             {"command": "run_existing_window_command", "args": {
                   "id": "repl_python_run",
                   "file": "config/Python/Main.sublime-menu"   
                }
             }
          ]
      }
   }
]


I tried the Chain of Command package, but doesn't work too.
jjforums
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 10:50 pm

Re: Run Multiple Commands.. Command

Postby Nilium on Thu May 08, 2014 4:44 am

Tried changing the context?
Nilium
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:22 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Plugin Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests