Sublime Forum

Lock build file

Hi, before I try and develop this, does anyone have ideas on how (or does it already exist) I go about setting up a plug that will let me lock the build file?

The idea goes like this;
I can lock the build file (and unlock it) - maybe a extra symbol on the file title or something to show its the locked one.
When it is locked, the build command will build only that file.
At any time it should be possible to unlock the build file as well.
Lock remains if the build file is closed!

I will say I am very new to sublime text how ever I am mighty impressed! :smiley:

0 Likes

Sorry, I didn’t understand what you want here, and since there’s no answer I’m probably not the only one :smiley:

What do you mean by build file, xxx.sublime-build ?
And what do you mean by lock ?

Do you mean that whatever your current file is, the build system must process the same file for your project ?

0 Likes

I am trying to use sublime text with a programming language called monkey ( monkeycoder.co.nz/ ). So far a user of the programming language has created a build file at that works great (Commands hi-light correctly and compiling/building works great)

In order to build my code (with include files) I need to build the main file.

Being able to lock this file would be ideal.

So when I try and build/compile, it automatically uses the locked file.

However after two days of poking about in sublime text 2, I think this is beyond me, I can’t even figure out how to call the build command!

0 Likes

If I understand you correctly, Sublime Text won’t do what you need out of the box. There is no default way of excluding files in build systems. But perhaps you can setup your build system so that your compiler doesn’t rebuild certain files, but that’s a job extraneous to Sublime Text. Sublime Text, in the build-system file will merely turn on switches and options in your compiler. You compiler does the job, not Sublime Text.