Sublime Forum

Always centered cursor

I’ve been trying to make a simple (I think) plugin but have utterly failed so far.

Basically I want to execute view.show_at_center whenever on_modified is triggered in the EventListener.

I’ve read the online docs and looked at WordCount’s source code (it seemed close), but I cannot for the life of my work this out. Can someone please help me or at least tell me if this should be a lot longer than the three lines I imagine it to be?

(I should mention that I’m not a programmer, but in the past have managed to puzzle out how to do small things.)

Thanks,
Alex

0 Likes

Typewriter: a plugin for writers
Key Down Event
Customizing ctrl+click

[code]import sublime_plugin

class AlwaysCenterCommand(sublime_plugin.EventListener):
def on_modified(self, view):
sel = view.sel()
pt = sel[0].begin() if len(sel) == 1 else None
if pt != None:
view.show_at_center(pt)[/code]

Center if not multi selection and modifying. That is it.

Or alternatively you could just use the region.

[code]import sublime_plugin

def on_modified(self, view):
sel = view.sel()
region = sel[0] if len(sel) == 1 else None
if region != None:
view.show_at_center(region)[/code]

0 Likes

Thank you for the quick response!

It works exactly as expected and it’s even more robust than what I asked for. I was actually planning to break multi-selection. (So why it hadn’t occured to me that sel is an array?)

I’ve tinkered with it to make it center the cursor when selection is modified:

import sublime_plugin

def on_selection_modified(self, view):
		self.center_cursor(view)

def center_cursor(self, view):
		sel = view.sel()
		region = sel[0] if len(sel) == 1 else None
		if region != None:		
			view.show_at_center(region)

This may be a bit overkill. It’s nice that now the cursor is always centered, but it’s very difficult to select text with the mouse. (I think I won’t mind if I am writing prose, but I have yet to try it out at length.)