Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

completions[] + auto_complete

completions[] + auto_complete

Postby atomi on Wed May 23, 2012 4:45 pm

I'm new to python so this might be a basic/stupid question but,

when using run_command auto_complete is it possible to display the completion similar to sublime-completions files.
ie: completions.append("MyCompletion\tSpecial Completions","MyCompletion") # which isn't working of course (different type error)
atomi

Re: completions[] + auto_complete

Postby C0D312 on Wed May 23, 2012 4:59 pm

run_command auto_complete

Are you referring to triggering the auto_completion within a textCommand? Or do you mean
def on_query_completions(self, view, prefix, locations):

What do you mean by "similar to sublime-completions files"? Do you mean how you can have helper in grey on the popup?

Either way, on_query_completions is expecting a list of tuples. Append only accepts one parameter and will not automatically create a tuple for you. So you could do:

Code: Select all
sometuple = ("MyCompletion\thelper text","MyCompletion")
completions.append(sometuple)
C0D312

Postby atomi on Wed May 23, 2012 5:17 pm

Are you referring to triggering the auto_completion within a textCommand?

Yeah, self.view.run_command('auto_complete')...

Do you mean how you can have helper in grey on the popup?

Exactly that. I want to add the helper text like in sublime-completions files but to the auto_complete using run_command in a textCommand plugin.

completions.append() isn't taking tuples I get:
TypeError: No registered converter was able to produce a C++ rvalue of type class std::basic_string<wchar_t,struct std::char_traits<wchar_t>,class std::allocator<wchar_t> > from this Python object of type tuple

Appending plain strings works as expected, but I'd love to add helper text as well.
Edit: Apologies for the PM, I hope that was cool. ;)
atomi

Postby C0D312 on Wed May 23, 2012 5:24 pm