Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Transparency like in textmate.

Transparency like in textmate.

Postby runnerofnight on Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:23 pm

In textmate I could set the editor to be transparent by tweaking opacity levels in my theme background color settings. Is it possible to do the same for ST 2?
runnerofnight
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby jps on Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:31 pm

It's not, unfortunately.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby PinnacleWebDesign on Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:06 pm

I don't know if there's a Mac equivalent, but if there are any Windows users interested in this, you can use AutoHotkey - just drop this in your .ahk file:

/*
Hotkeys:
Alt-W: make window less transparent
Alt-S: make window more transparent
Alt-S: reset
http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic57583.html
*/
!w::
WinGet, currentWindow, ID, A
if not (%currentWindow%)
{
%currentWindow% := 255
}
if (%currentWindow% != 255)
{
%currentWindow% += 5
WinSet, Transparent, % %currentWindow%, ahk_id %currentWindow%
}
SplashImage,,w100 x0 y0 b fs12, % %currentWindow%
SetTimer, TurnOffSI, 1000, On
Return

!s::
SplashImage, Off
WinGet, currentWindow, ID, A
if not (%currentWindow%)
{
%currentWindow% := 255
}
if (%currentWindow% != 5)
{
%currentWindow% -= 5
WinSet, Transparent, % %currentWindow%, ahk_id %currentWindow%
}
SplashImage,, w100 x0 y0 b fs12, % %currentWindow%
SetTimer, TurnOffSI, 1000, On
Return

TurnOffSI:
SplashImage, off
SetTimer, TurnOffSI, 1000, Off
return

!x:: ; Reset Transparency Settings
WinSet, Transparent, 255, A
WinSet, Transparent, OFF, A
return
PinnacleWebDesign
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:43 pm
Location: UK

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby atomi on Sun Mar 20, 2011 11:21 pm

I use feewhee.exe Win only though.
atomi
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA US

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby paloalto on Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:56 am

so unfortunately...

:(
paloalto
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:54 am

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby firefusion on Sat Aug 20, 2011 5:21 pm

It really needs to be just the background that is transparent. It's too hard to work if the whole window is transparent. Like mintty terminal has.
firefusion
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby wulftone on Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:01 am

FYI, if you really want this feature, go vote for it and comment here: http://sublimetext.userecho.com/topic/5 ... eme-level/

That's the ST2 feedback thing, more votes means it might get done!
wulftone
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:53 am

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby jtrachen on Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:55 pm

I would also like to see this feature as i also noticed that this was a lacking one in ST2 hopefully we can all share our thoughts about this and we could be able to resolve this issue and see some improvements as well. it will be great if we could be able to add inputs and insights so that stuff like this could be taken into consideration. although all in all ST2 is great and i am a big fan :)
jtrachen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:47 pm

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby handycam on Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:05 pm

I just "voted" for it on that other thread. It's not seriously important, of course, but it would be nice.
Mac OS 10.9.3
ST 3 (3059)
handycam
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: Transparency like in textmate.

Postby evs on Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:21 am

You can use this

http://infinite-labs.net/afloat/


cheers

evs
evs
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:02 am

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests