Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Running Ruby commands

Running Ruby commands

Postby charlesroper on Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:30 pm

I've spoken with a few people that say the roadblock for them switching from TM and adopting ST2 is Python. More specifically, they'd like to write commands using Ruby like they do in TM. I know that the API in ST2 is very different from the sub-process model TM employs, and embedding Ruby in the core editor is (probably) out of the question, so my question is this: would it be possible to write a Python API wrapper that allowed for the execution of a Ruby (or and other interpreted language) script and have the results passed back into ST2?
charlesroper
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:30 am

Re: Running Ruby commands

Postby guillermooo on Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:50 pm

My plan is to make the plugin below shell-agnostic, so to speak. I don't know when, though.

https://github.com/SublimeText/PowershellUtils
guillermooo
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:06 am

Re: Running Ruby commands

Postby charlesroper on Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:24 pm

Nice. Although I wonder if it'll encourage community fragmentation? That is, if we start to have Ruby dependencies, then Windows users will have to jump through some hoops to get things running. Same problem if Bash is used.
charlesroper
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:30 am


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 24 guests