Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Toolbar

Re: Toolbar

Postby eric1235711 on Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:15 pm

I don't use it...

I prefer to keep it hidden by default :P
0xhexakosioikexekontahexaphilia
eric1235711
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:54 pm

Re: Toolbar

Postby myel on Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:38 pm

never used it.
myel
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:26 pm

Re: Toolbar

Postby gpfsmurf on Thu Feb 26, 2009 6:36 pm

I don't use it because I don't like to use my mouse. I especially would never use the 'standard' buttons: new, open, save, copy/paste/cut, undo/redo.

I think the layout buttons look cool but I use the menu bar to change the layout (the defaut shortcut keys conflict with my multiple desktop manager).

I'll probably just create a custom quick panel with the commands I deem useful, but that I don't use often enough to remember the keyboard shortcut.
gpfsmurf
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:31 pm

Re: Toolbar

Postby Aphex on Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:37 pm

I just got the latest beta and I was really sad to see the toolbar was gone. I tracked down this thread and decided to make an account and respond.

Please bring it back. I don't really care if other people didn't use it, I did. Opening files is much easier with a single click on the open file button than it is to move my mouse all the way to the menu and drag it to the open file option. This applies to all the buttons up there, they are simply shortcuts, like keyboard shortcuts, these are mouse shortcuts if you will. If you don't use them, disable the goddamn toolbar, but why remove it entirely from the program? This decision mystifies me.
Aphex
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:33 pm

Re: Toolbar

Postby Aphex on Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:29 am

sublimator wrote:Out of interest (I'm sure Jon would like to hear as well as he really wants to make Sublime keyboard oriented) what other commands/activities have you reaching to the mouse while using Sublime?

Column selection?

The minimap (heh)
Multi-line text selection
Word selection - as in, double clicking a word to select it - come to think of it i do miss the triple-click-selects-whole-line functionality of other editors...
Clicking on other tabs (i do sometimes use ctrl-tab if the tab is close by)
Aphex
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:33 pm

Re: Toolbar

Postby jps on Fri Apr 10, 2009 12:24 am

I just got the latest beta and I was really sad to see the toolbar was gone.


Hi Aphex, welcome to the forums. The toolbar was removed altogether under the assumption that no one used it - I'm happy to put it back in for the next beta.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 23 guests