Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Vintage Mode (Build 2111)

Vintage Mode (Build 2111)

Postby atourino on Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:43 pm

I'm using the keybinding for exiting insert mode:

Code: Select all
{ "keys": ["j", "j"], "command": "exit_insert_mode",
   "context":
   [
      { "key": "setting.command_mode", "operand": false },
      { "key": "setting.is_widget", "operand": false }
   ]
}


This works great except that if you are in insert mode and you don't edit anything on a saved file, the first 'j' that you type triggers the changed buffer bit and the tab is marked as having a changed file. Of course, the second 'j' triggers the exit insert mode function and the first 'j' is removed from the buffer and the net change is 0. Is there a way to revert the modified buffer bit back to unmodified in these situations? I have looked a bit in the docs but I see no obvious way to do it.

Cheers,
Antonio
atourino
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:39 am

Re: Vintage Mode (Build 2111)

Postby atourino on Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:52 pm

To be clear, if I try to close the file, ST does not warn about a changed file with a prompt to save the file before closing it so that's good. I mean that in the file name tab, visually, the file is marked as changed.
atourino
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:39 am

Re: Vintage Mode (Build 2111)

Postby guillermooo on Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:53 pm

The 'revert' command will discard unsaved changes to the buffer. :,:,e with Vintage on will get you to that command. I don't know off the top of my head whether you can easily run a sequence of commands from a key binding to save you the :,:,e steps.
Last edited by guillermooo on Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
guillermooo
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:06 am

Re: Vintage Mode (Build 2111)

Postby atourino on Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:27 pm

Thanks Guillermo. I will give it a try.

Antonio
atourino
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:39 am

Re: Vintage Mode (Build 2111)

Postby TechnoCat on Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:56 pm

My complaint when using vintage mode is it doesn't remember your column.
For instance, if I'm on column 55 and i hit 'j' a bunch to move down, and one of the lines i move to is blank, now the column it is on is 1 from then on. It should store a virtual column and only reset it when i hit 'h' and 'l'.
TechnoCat
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:15 pm

Re: Vintage Mode (Build 2111)

Postby guillermooo on Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:41 pm

Agreed. It's pretty annoying, but with multiple selections it won't be easy to fix, I think.
guillermooo
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:06 am


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests