Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby bizoo on Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:40 pm

Didn't found the syntax for the branch, I must be blind.
Anyway, I suppose that an entry in the config file to specify the branch is required, I'm not sure that we don't want default branch everytime.

Thanks.
bizoo
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby wbond on Thu Sep 15, 2011 2:06 am

bizoo wrote:Didn't found the syntax for the branch, I must be blind.
Anyway, I suppose that an entry in the config file to specify the branch is required, I'm not sure that we don't want default branch everytime.


I think that having Package Control only pull from default when you specify a BitBucket URL is perfectly fine. If you want to use a version in a branch then you can clone the repo, checkout the branch and Package Control will keep it up to date with the remote for you.
wbond
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby bizoo on Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:43 am

wbond wrote:If you want to use a version in a branch then you can clone the repo, checkout the branch and Package Control will keep it up to date with the remote for you.

Didn't know you could do that, nice.

Thanks for the update.
bizoo
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby bizoo on Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:15 am

Oups (on upgrade command):
Code: Select all
startup, version: 2117 windows x64 channel: dev
...
Exception in thread Thread-4:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File ".\threading.py", line 532, in __bootstrap_inner
  File ".\Package Control.py", line 500, in run
  File ".\Package Control.py", line 300, in get_packages
KeyError: 'changesets'

This is the JSON I receive, no 'changesets' records
Code: Select all
{
    "node": "3bd4e612ff6e",
    "files": [
        {
            "type": "added",
            "file": ".hgignore"
        },
        {
            "type": "added",
            "file": "Default (Linux).sublime-keymap"
        },
        {
            "type": "added",
            "file": "Default (OSX).sublime-keymap"
        },
        {
            "type": "added",
            "file": "Default (Windows).sublime-keymap"
        },
        {
            "type": "added",
            "file": "case_conversion.py"
        }
    ],
    "raw_author": "Scott Bessler <scottbessler@gmail.com>",
    "utctimestamp": "2011-09-15 01:00:39+00:00",
    "author": "scottbessler",
    "timestamp": "2011-09-15 03:00:39",
    "raw_node": "3bd4e612ff6ea1c865772a971fb517cc42f386f1",
    "parents": [],
    "branch": "default",
    "message": "modifying case conversion to work on all selections, and pep8ing it",
    "revision": 0,
    "size": -1
}

I changed all:
Code: Select all
last_commit['changesets'][0]

by:
Code: Select all
last_commit

And apparently it works.
bizoo
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:53 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby wbond on Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:06 pm

bizoo wrote:Oups (on upgrade command):
Code: Select all
startup, version: 2117 windows x64 channel: dev
...
Exception in thread Thread-4:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File ".\threading.py", line 532, in __bootstrap_inner
  File ".\Package Control.py", line 500, in run
  File ".\Package Control.py", line 300, in get_packages
KeyError: 'changesets'


I'll get a fix out for that today. Thanks for the report.
wbond
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby firefusion on Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:07 am

Is this a package manger bug or sublime bug? When I start sublime and i'm not online I get an error box saying it couldn't fetch the repository url and then sublime doesn't load. I have to kill sublime in the task manager and start it again.
firefusion
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby wbond on Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:20 pm

firefusion wrote:Is this a package manger bug or sublime bug? When I start sublime and i'm not online I get an error box saying it couldn't fetch the repository url and then sublime doesn't load. I have to kill sublime in the task manager and start it again.


I'm not sure what the issue is there. I did just release version 1.2.7 so try to upgrade to that if you can. If you do continue to have problems, please open a ticket at https://github.com/wbond/sublime_package_control/issues since there is no notification system here on the forum.
wbond
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby aple on Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:24 am

As much as I like Package Control it throws a series of errors from time to time on ST2 startup.

The error it throws is:

Code: Select all
Package Control: Error downloading repository. HTTP error 503
downloading
INSERT URL OF WHATEVER PACKAGE IT'S FAILING TO LOAD


Any suggestions as to what's going on and how to fix it from freaking out?
aple
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:42 pm

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby wbond on Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:26 pm

aple wrote:As much as I like Package Control it throws a series of errors from time to time on ST2 startup.

The error it throws is:

Code: Select all
Package Control: Error downloading repository. HTTP error 503
downloading
INSERT URL OF WHATEVER PACKAGE IT'S FAILING TO LOAD


Any suggestions as to what's going on and how to fix it from freaking out?


A 503 error means that the service is temporarily unavailable. The way to work around it is to tell me you are having the problem, at which point I'll look into enhancing the retry functionality to handle 503s in addition to timeouts. :-) Is it GitHub that is triggering the 503s? What platform are you running on?

I'll try to do this later today. Hopefully in the near future I'll also be rolling out a centralized cache of package info that will help prevent issues like this, but also drastically improve the performance of Package Control.
wbond
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby natebeaty on Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:52 pm

I've been having a similar issue, using OS X Lion 10.7.1 and the latest dev version of ST2. This error pops up on start:

Package Control: Error downloading repository. HTTP error 404 downloading https://api.github.com/repos/Kronuz/SublimeLinter.git.


When I do Package Control: Discover, the error pops up again, and if I hit enter on any of the packages, it freezes ST2.

edit: I went in and removed SublimeLinter from Package Control Settings - User (there were two entries -- even when I removed one it was still giving the error). Once I removed both of them, and re-installed SublimeLinter using Package Control, it worked fine. I remember the previous time I installed it, I had to enter the Git URL myself. Now I just have this in my User Settings file:

Code: Select all
{
   "auto_upgrade_last_run": 1316267222,
   "repositories":
   [
      "https://github.com/buymeasoda/soda-theme"
   ]
}
natebeaty
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

PreviousNext

Return to Plugin Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests