Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Ctrl+Shift+Up (swap line up) has stopped working

Ctrl+Shift+Up (swap line up) has stopped working

Postby jnicol on Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:14 am

Yesterday I noticed that the keybinding Ctrl+Shift+Up (swap lines up) has stopped working for me.

Here's what I've tried to do to fix the problem:

- Reboot
- Uninstall and reinstall Sublime Text 2
- Check that the keybinding still exists in the keybinding preferences
- Check that the Up arrow key still works (it does)

I am using ST2 build 2139 on Vista. My only addon package is Zen Coding.

Previously this keybinding worked for me, and still works on my computer at home (same OS, and version of ST2, also with Zen Coding package).

All I can guess is that another application has stolen the keybinding, but I've tried closing all other applications and rebooting and the problem persists.

Does anyone have a suggestion as to how I might get the keybinding working again?
jnicol
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:41 pm

Re: Ctrl+Shift+Up (swap line up) has stopped working

Postby jnicol on Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:10 pm

Just an update to my problem with this keybinding.

I have confirmed that in other applications that use the same keybinding, Ctrl_Shirt+Up also fails.

I therefore conclude that either:

- Windows is for some reason failing to pass along the keyboard event to applications
- Another application has hijacked the keybinding
- My keyboard is messed up, and while the individual keys work, in combination they fail

Will keep looking...
jnicol
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:41 pm

Re: Ctrl+Shift+Up (swap line up) has stopped working

Postby jnicol on Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:38 pm

I've given up, and have just made a new keybinding:

{ "keys": ["ctrl+alt+shift+up"], "command": "swap_line_up" }

*shrug*
jnicol
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:41 pm

Re: Ctrl+Shift+Up (swap line up) has stopped working

Postby jps on Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:31 am

IIRC some users have had issues with the nvidia drivers eating these keys. I could be wrong though.

It can be helpful to enter sublime.log_commands(True) in the console, to verify that the key strokes a getting through to Sublime Text: you'll see an entry in the console each time a key binding is triggered.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3077
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Ctrl+Shift+Up (swap line up) has stopped working

Postby jnicol on Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:37 am

@jps Thanks for the suggestion!

I actually downloaded a piece of keyboard testing software this morning, and it also confirmed that when Ctrl+Shift are held down, the 'up' key never registers. In any other situation that key works fine.

I'll see if i can dig up any info about nvidia messing with the key binding (I do have an nvidia gfx card)...
jnicol
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:41 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 21 guests