Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby wbond on Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:04 pm

natebeaty wrote:I've been having a similar issue, using OS X Lion 10.7.1 and the latest dev version of ST2. This error pops up on start:

Package Control: Error downloading repository. HTTP error 404 downloading https://api.github.com/repos/Kronuz/SublimeLinter.git.


When I do Package Control: Discover, the error pops up again, and if I hit enter on any of the packages, it freezes ST2.


It looks like you have an improper repository URL to your installation, although I could be wrong. I don't believe Package Control ever uses URLs with .git at the end, which is why I think you may have added one. Please go to Preferences > Package Settings > Package Control > Settings - User. Delete any reference to SublimeLinter from your repositories setting. SublimeLinter is part of the default channel so you shouldn't need to add . If it was there, after you delete it you should not longer get a 404 (not found) error. You should now be able to install SublimeLinter.

If this is not the case, please open a ticket on GitHub at https://github.com/wbond/sublime_package_control/issues. Unfortunately this forum isn't a very good place for bug reports since there is no notification mechanism.
wbond
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby natebeaty on Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:10 pm

wbond wrote:It looks like you have an improper repository URL to your installation, although I could be wrong. I don't believe Package Control ever uses URLs with .git at the end, which is why I think you may have added one. Please go to Preferences > Package Settings > Package Control > Settings - User. Delete any reference to SublimeLinter from your repositories setting. SublimeLinter is part of the default channel so you shouldn't need to add . If it was there, after you delete it you should not longer get a 404 (not found) error. You should now be able to install SublimeLinter.


Exactly how I fixed it (took me a second to figure out how to find that settings file). I guess I just posted this in case someone else had a similar issue.

Turns out this is user error, I thought I was supposed to copy/paste the repository URL, not the Git page URL (the same, but minus ".git" at the end). Maybe you should just strip /\.git$/ when a user does a manual Add Repository?

Anyway, was an easy fix. Thanks for the great package manager, such a fantastic addition to ST2.
natebeaty
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby aple on Sun Sep 18, 2011 11:54 pm

wbond wrote:Is it GitHub that is triggering the 503s? What platform are you running on?


If I recall correctly, it is GitHub that's triggering these. Win 7

It's infrequent enough that it's not a huge issue, but when it happens it fires a bunch of them at the same time. Is there any way to simply make this silent and log it in an error log somewhere instead of throwing a bunch of alerts? I mean, how often do I really need to check GitHub now that I already have the packages? :)

Love the plugin though, blows every other IDE's package management out of the water. Thanks for the hard work! :)
aple
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:42 pm

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby wbond on Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:32 pm

aple wrote:
wbond wrote:Is it GitHub that is triggering the 503s? What platform are you running on?


If I recall correctly, it is GitHub that's triggering these. Win 7

It's infrequent enough that it's not a huge issue, but when it happens it fires a bunch of them at the same time. Is there any way to simply make this silent and log it in an error log somewhere instead of throwing a bunch of alerts? I mean, how often do I really need to check GitHub now that I already have the packages? :)

Love the plugin though, blows every other IDE's package management out of the water. Thanks for the hard work! :)


Sorry for the long delay. Version 1.2.9 has handling built in to retry metadata requests that result in a 503. Hopefully this should reduce the number of popups you see.
wbond
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby firefusion on Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:49 pm

I upgraded my packages, got a load of popups, and now get this message when trying to start SublimeText. I no longer starts up :P

Image

That was using ST2 Build 2150. I've updated to Build 2151 but no change.

EDIT: Fixed it by following this http://www.sublimetext.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=18569#p18569
firefusion
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:37 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby wbond on Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:16 pm

firefusion wrote:I upgraded my packages, got a load of popups, and now get this message when trying to start SublimeText. I no longer starts up :P

Image

That was using ST2 Build 2150. I've updated to Build 2151 but no change.

EDIT: Fixed it by following this http://www.sublimetext.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=18569#p18569


Do you recall what the popups said?

Here are the instructions for future users to solve startup problems:

1. Browse to your Installed Packages directory, which is one of the following:
  • Win: C:\Users\{username}\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Installed Packages\
  • OSX: /Users/{username}/Library/Application Support/Sublime Text 2/Installed Packages/
  • Linux: /home/{username}/.config/sublime-text-2/Installed Packages/
2. Delete any .sublime-package files in there
3. Start Sublime

This problem is caused by non-ascii filename being used in the package and the PackageSetup.py that comes with Sublime choking on it. I submitted a patch to Jon to fix some of these errors just a few days ago, but it looks like this is another. I'll send him another patch to fix this.
wbond
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby Emioo215 on Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:21 am

Thanks for the help
Emioo215
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:17 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby C0D312 on Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:31 pm

Funny story.
I had installed SublimeCodeIntel again to give it another shot and maybe I would like it. It managed to slow my computer down and I decided to delete it. So I opened my packages folder and deleted it. I continue along for a couple of days and Sublime was giving me weird errors in the status bar. It said things like "Couldn't find language" so I figured their was something wrong with my tmLanguage file or something. I opened up my console and saw a bunch of references to codeintel. I thought to myself, "That's weird. I deleted that a while ago." So I went to my packages and there it is again. So again I deleted it. I relaunch ST and all is well. Then the errors start coming back. I look at my console and it says, "orphaned file found. Package Control reinstalling SublimeCodeIntel." So as it turns out, I needed to uninstall SublimeCodeIntel via Package Control.

TL;DR Package Control will reinstall packages that were deleted manually from the packages folder.
C0D312
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:23 am

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby defsquad on Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:36 am

this may already be known, but PC isn't pulling the latest github version of SublimeCodeIntel. I noticed that in the json-package file for SublimeCodeIntel he hasn't updated the version number or modified date, so I'm wondering if PC just looks for a change in that version number to know to update from github.
defsquad
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:36 pm

Re: Package Control: A full-featured package manager

Postby C0D312 on Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:39 am

defsquad wrote:this may already be known, but PC isn't pulling the latest github version of SublimeCodeIntel. I noticed that in the json-package file for SublimeCodeIntel he hasn't updated the version number or modified date, so I'm wondering if PC just looks for a change in that version number to know to update from github.


This is on purpose. To make sure everyone is using the same version of SublimeCodeIntel (to help with debugging, etc.), Package Control uses the latest stable version of SublimeCodeIntel (as deemed by the developers of SublimeCodeIntel).
C0D312
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:23 am

PreviousNext

Return to Plugin Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests