Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

The only thing stopping me from purchasing

The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby robinduckett on Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:33 am

Is the lack of
Image


And yes, I am aware it can be "brought up" using a command, but that's an obvious user interface accessibility MISTAKE and it needs to be either on by default or available from the menu.
robinduckett
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:28 am

Re: The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby EJ12N on Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:07 pm

I was a netbeans user too b4 switching to sublime and I agree a lot of people miss that panel and like u said is there hidden.

But I already got used to ctrl+p, it makes me work faster :)
I just wished it would save what I typed last and show me last results and be able to multiple select files because right now u can only select one or open all kinda sucks

But I agree a lot people rather use some GUI specially MOUSE users and I'm sure they would be happy campers.
EJ12N
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby tgkeul on Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:29 pm

I the project panel would exist - I would disable it. The quickpanel is much more efficient and does not waste precious editing space on the monitor. 8-)
tgkeul
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 9:35 pm

Re: The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby EJ12N on Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:27 pm

tgkeul wrote:I the project panel would exist - I would disable it. The quickpanel is much more efficient and does not waste precious editing space on the monitor. 8-)

I agree but it should be optional, some people (mouse lovers) rather waste a lil screen space and have that there ready for their mouse adventures!
besides a lot of people have dual monitors specially programmers :D
EJ12N
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby joerg.batttermann on Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:11 pm

robinduckett wrote:And yes, I am aware it can be "brought up" using a command, but that's an obvious user interface accessibility MISTAKE and it needs to be either on by default or available from the menu.


uhmm... i am a total newbie with Sublime.. but how would I bring that up? (I am obviously one of those mouse-lovers in some usecases ;) )

Cheers and thanks,
-j
joerg.batttermann
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby jps on Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:48 pm

There are a few options for selecting files with the quick panel:

- Ctrl+Shift+O: Select between open files
- Ctrl+Alt+Shift+O: Select file in current directory
- Ctrl+P: Select file in project

For the last one, you'll need to have a project open: this is mostly a case of doing Project/New Project, and the saving the project file in the root of your project directory.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby jonb on Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:04 am

I wasn't sure where to post this, but I have a couple of observations / feature requests / questions..

I''m not sure if it's me being stupid but I have noticed that when you add a file to a project folder, you have to close/open the project (or sublime text) for the new file to appear in the ctrl+p quick view (Open file in project menu).

Secondly, is there a way to re-name a file in a project using the quick view (ctrl+p). Currently I have to close the file in sublime-text, switch to windows explorer and then re-name in that.

Is a 'file-explorer' (like pointed out in the net beans screen shot) for projects coming?

If it is, would it be possible for you to add the ability to open a folder, like in text mate, and the file explorer to show just the contents of that folder?

Apart from these couple of niggles, you most definitely have the title of best text editor on windows in my eyes!
jonb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:42 am

Re: The only thing stopping me from purchasing

Postby vim on Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:21 am

to reload project (yes it is not automatic...) add the following line to your user key binding:
Code: Select all
<binding key="ctrl+shift+r" command="scanProject"/>


to rename quickly, use this workaround: open the file using the project quick-panel (ctrl+p) then double click on the file tab (where you see its name). it will open a windows explorer on this location (actually to open a new file) you can then rename any file you want there.
vim
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 6:51 pm


Return to Ideas and Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests