Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Word Wrapping Issue

Word Wrapping Issue

Postby wmbrant on Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:25 pm

I'm running Linux 64-bit, build 2177.

In a plain text file (Syntax checked is "Plain Text") with Word Wrap checked and Word Wrap Column set to 'Automatic', I'm getting the occasional incorrect word wraps - where the edge of the window falls at the end of a line, ST will break a line between the last character of the last word and a period, so that in the wrapped line the period is the first - and sometimes the only character in the wrapped line. Given the line

Now is the....country.

Sometimes ST will wrap it like this:

Now is the....country
.

ST will also break at a quote character, leaving the quote as the only character on the wrapped line, thusly: Given the line "Now is the.....country." it will wrap like this:

"Now is the....country.
"

or even like this:

"Now is the....country
." Now is the...

This is a bit unusal. Most wraps in ST occur where and how you want, but these unusual cases will occasionally occur in a large file. Obviously, with plain text you don't want this kind of wrapping.

If you delete one or more characters from the line before one of these hanging wraps, the hanging character shows up in the previous line where it should - and also shows there isn't a blank character just before the period or quote that is causing the issue.
wmbrant
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:55 pm

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby jps on Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:36 pm

Word wrapping isn't particularly smart, and this is unlikely to change until Sublime Text 3
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby gardiner on Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:01 pm

This issue is bothering me, too. Plus I don't understand it at all - if I replace the period character with a comma (',') or an exclamation mark ('!'), the wrapping behaves exactly as expected (wrap in front of the word that comes before the punctuation character:

Period character:
Code: Select all
My long line comes to an end
.


Exclamation mark character:
Code: Select all
My long line comes to an
end!


This is ... weird. And not quite understandable... If this is really not going to change until ST3, when will that be? I can be patient ;) Until then - Is there some kind of workaround to this behaviour?

Cheers,
Ole.
gardiner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby Tom F. on Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:11 pm

Hi gardiner,

did you make any progress in changing the odd wrapping behaviour?

Yours,
Tom
Tom F.
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby fonnesbeck on Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm

I implore the developers to fix this earlier than ST3. This goes against all conventions, and makes ST2 annoying to use as a writing tool. The app has so much polish outside of this, its a shame to have such a niggling and obvious bug kicking around.

Thanks in advance.
fonnesbeck
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:12 am

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby lupocos on Tue Jul 10, 2012 5:37 pm

please, fix this bug
.

or I shall exhume TextMate!
lupocos
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 5:33 pm

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby matthjes on Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:56 pm

jps wrote:Word wrapping isn't particularly smart, and this is unlikely to change until Sublime Text 3


...which will need a new license.

I think this word wrapping issue should not be treated as a new feature for ST3 but as a bug fix to the current implementation. Also, Alt-Q is similarly broken: a nicely formatted text with "word wrap at ruler" activated gets scrambled up when I select it and hit Alt-Q although, from what I understand, it should simply insert newlines at the end.
matthjes
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:19 am

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby leehblue on Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:30 am

Any updates on this issue? I've been struggling with it for a while now too hoping that someone might post an encouraging update to this thread, but alas. Very eager to get a fix for this because I write a ton of Markdown and this wrapping issue is quite a bother.
leehblue
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:27 am

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby phyllisstein on Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:43 am

Thought I'd add my plaint to the pile. I use Sublime for everything now, but primarily for non-code writing (in LaTeX and Markdown), and this can be pretty annoying. Sublime particularly likes to drop the closing brace of a TeX command on the next line, but it also affects periods and parentheses.

I'm glad it's something that you're looking into for some future version, but it'll be hard to feel confident buying a whole brand-spankin'-new ST3 with this unresolved.
phyllisstein
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 5:28 am

Re: Word Wrapping Issue

Postby ramseys on Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:50 am

Another vote for fixing this issue before ST3. I write a lot of prose with Sublime Text, and the odd punctuation wrapping behavior drives me a little crazy.

Thanks.

Ramsey
ramseys
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:47 am

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 21 guests