Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Select all text between quotes/brackets?

Re: Select all text between quotes/brackets?

Postby Kaske on Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:16 pm

facelessuser wrote:BracketHighlighter allows you to select strings without quotes or brackets. I think it is by default some goofy sequence like ["ctrl+shift+b", "ctrl+shift+s"], but you can change it something sensible. This was when I was still providing shortcuts in my plugins (there are so many shortcuts now it is hard to find free ones).


Thanks, man, a bit cumbersome for such a simple feature but it works.
Kaske
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:43 am
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Select all text between quotes/brackets?

Postby facelessuser on Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:21 pm

Kaske wrote:
facelessuser wrote:BracketHighlighter allows you to select strings without quotes or brackets. I think it is by default some goofy sequence like ["ctrl+shift+b", "ctrl+shift+s"], but you can change it something sensible. This was when I was still providing shortcuts in my plugins (there are so many shortcuts now it is hard to find free ones).


Thanks, man, a bit cumbersome for such a simple feature but it works.


If I was doing it now, I would have provided no shortcuts and let the user define them. It is goofy only because all other shortcuts were taken. The only good ones are ["alt+up"] and ["alt+down"] which jumps you between tags, brackets, or quotes.

But you can always override the default jump between brackets to use this one.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1544
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: Select all text between quotes/brackets?

Postby Kaske on Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:06 am

I noticed a strange behaviour:

When I use Ctrl + Shift + Space inside an ID (inside quotes) it selects the word without quotes (just as I think is the most natural way of selection). But when I do the same inside a class it selects both the name and quotes.

Now, BracketHighlighter is one solution, but still it offers too many things I don't won't to have just for the sake of simple inside-quote selection.
Kaske
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:43 am
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Select all text between quotes/brackets?

Postby knrd on Thu May 31, 2012 2:45 pm

Yeah, noticed something similar as well.

ctrl+shift+space with the cursor on the last char will select the ". Works fine with the first char.

Example

var $foo = "text he|re"; => text here
var $foo = "|text here"; => text here
var $foo = "text here|"; => text here"
knrd
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:23 pm

Re: Select all text between quotes/brackets?

Postby afraid2trade on Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:04 am

https://github.com/kek/sublime-expand-s ... -to-quotes

Plugin for selection inside quotes, completely analogous to behaviour of builtin bracket selection, is here if anyone still need it...
afraid2trade
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:03 am

Select all text between curly braces VIM?

Postby MrShift on Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:22 am

Hi, I have tried to find a way to select the characters within curly braces in VI mode.
The command I write is "vi{" (exactly: v i AltGr+7 )
But the result I get is that all the characters from my cursor and back to first linebreak.
If I use the sublime command ctrl-alt-m it works great, but I would rather use the VI command, vi then character.

Can you guys try this out and see if you have the same issue. Or am I alone?

EDIT:
Forgot to mention I am using ST2 2.0.1
MrShift
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:49 am

Previous

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests