Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby erinata on Mon May 14, 2012 3:17 am

I try to add the repo to package control but it doesn't work.

If I just download the package from github and install it I got

File ".\sublime_plugin.py", line 356, in run_
return self.run(edit, **args)
File ".\sublime_keypress.py", line 11, in run
File ".\process.py", line 276, in send_keypress
File ".\process.py", line 290, in read
TypeError: 'NoneType' object is not iterable

I am using Sublime dev build and Windows 7 64 bit.
erinata
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby xeno.by on Mon May 14, 2012 4:31 am

Yeah, getting the same error, though I managed to run it once or twice :)

By the way, the end result is quite slow (sporting maximum 1-1.5 redraws per second). Why would that be?
xeno.by
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:03 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby wuub on Mon May 14, 2012 8:15 am

Yeah, I should've made it more clear that it's still rather user hostile :mrgreen: There was absolutely zero work done in the area of graceful shutdown and/or error handling.
If you get it running, then play with it because you'll have to restart sublime to launch another one (this will obviously be changed before beta to allow multiple consoles, closing processes on tab close, etc. etc.)

By the way, the end result is quite slow (sporting maximum 1-1.5 redraws per second). Why would that be?


TL;DR: Don't know. I didn't profile it yet.
I suspect that applying 500-5000+ color regions can be a bit slow but didn't have time to check yet.
Either way 1-1.5fps seems low. How long is the delay between pressing a key and character showing up in SublimePTY console (w/o far) ?

I try to add the repo to package control but it doesn't work.


Yeah, sorry. I updated installation instruction on github.
SublimeREPL via Package Control & SublimePTY dev/pre-alpha. Donations are appreciated, but not required :) Twitter: @wuub
wuub
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:16 am
Location: Poland

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby xeno.by on Mon May 14, 2012 11:54 am

When I do something in the window that shows up when I launch console_server.py, the feedback is instantaneous
xeno.by
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:03 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby wuub on Mon May 14, 2012 12:49 pm

When I do something in the window that shows up when I launch console_server.py, the feedback is instantaneous


Ok. I'll be doing some profiling soon, and since I've already switched to UDP*, maybe some async goodness will improve responsiveness.

* - to any network programmers: I know that my use case is an abomination and I know UDP can theoretically drop packets even over loopback, but for now its connection-less nature and framing makes so many things easier that I'm willing to accept the risk :)


EDIT:
Guess what: _apply_colors() diff refresh and full refresh
SublimeREPL via Package Control & SublimePTY dev/pre-alpha. Donations are appreciated, but not required :) Twitter: @wuub
wuub
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:16 am
Location: Poland

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby xeno.by on Mon May 14, 2012 6:15 pm

Allrighty, now it's 10 fps. Still not ideal, but very decent! Thank you!
xeno.by
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:03 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby erinata on Tue May 15, 2012 2:59 am

Wow.....it works!!!

I am glad that the windows version works. ^_^
erinata
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby francescob on Tue May 15, 2012 1:35 pm

hi, and first of all thanks for the plugin which is really amazing!
I have a little problem though: if i quit sublime with pty tab open, when i open sublime again the pty tab opens again without any errors, but it doesn't respond to any input, it just shows bash-3.2$
is this a known problem? I'm using latest sublime build with lion 10.7.4
Also, a little request: is it possibile to have the terminal open at the root of the current opened project? or at least to a custom folder and not to / ?
thanks in advance for any help
Francesco
francescob
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby wuub on Tue May 15, 2012 2:21 pm

francescob wrote:if i quit sublime with pty tab open, when i open sublime again the pty tab opens again without any errors, but it doesn't respond to any input, it just shows bash-3.2$is this a known problem? I'm using latest sublime build with lion 10.7.4


AFAIK this is very strange sublime "bug". Maybe someone knows why it happens, I don't. TERMINAL views are marked as scratch (v.set_scratch(True)) and most of the time restarting ST2 should close them as well. But from time to time they reappear for no apparent reason.
In other words, if TERMINAL view is visible after Sublime restart, it will be defunct and there are no plans to change this right now.

Also, a little request: is it possibile to have the terminal open at the root of the current opened project? or at least to a custom folder and not to / ?


Definitely. I'll add it very soon.
SublimeREPL via Package Control & SublimePTY dev/pre-alpha. Donations are appreciated, but not required :) Twitter: @wuub
wuub
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:16 am
Location: Poland

Re: SublimePTY [pre-alpha]

Postby atomi on Tue May 15, 2012 4:57 pm

Win 7 x64

Code: Select all
socket.error: [Errno 10048] Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port) is normally permitted
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File ".\sublime_plugin.py", line 356, in run_
    return self.run(edit, **args)
  File ".\sublime_keypress.py", line 11, in run
  File ".\process.py", line 279, in send_keypress
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'send_keypress'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File ".\sublime_plugin.py", line 339, in run_
    return self.run()
  File ".\sublimepty.py", line 26, in run
  File ".\process.py", line 264, in start
  File "D:\Dropbox\Downloads\Applications\sublimetext2-2195x64\Data\Packages\SublimePTY\console\console_client.py", line 25, in __init__
    self._sock.bind((UDP_IP, SEND_UDP_PORT))
  File "<string>", line 1, in bind
atomi
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles CA US

PreviousNext

Return to Plugin Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests