Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Search and replace on an unsaved temporary window?

Search and replace on an unsaved temporary window?

Postby wamatt on Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:05 am

helooooo :)

I have the following:

Image

aiming to do temporary small job, like remove the whitespace from a bit of text i've copied off the keyboard into a temp window and don't want to go through all the hassle of saving the file, then typing the newly formed filename into the "Where" field, just in order to explicitly tell ST2 to process that tab only. Also I don't want to close all my existing tabs down.

Quite unintuitive out the box, and the default behavior (all open files), is a bit scary.

would love to know how this is possible... or maybe im being stupid :p (a definite possibility!)

thanks
wamatt
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:59 am

Re: Search and replace on an unsaved temporary window?

Postby iamntz on Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:46 am

What about Find->Replace ? (or ctrl/cmd+H)
iamntz
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:52 am
Location: Romania

Re: Search and replace on an unsaved temporary window?

Postby wamatt on Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:44 am

Nope, doesn't work. :(

Anyone.....?
wamatt
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:59 am

Re: Search and replace on an unsaved temporary window?

Postby jbjornson on Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:56 am

wamatt wrote:Nope, doesn't work. :(


You sure?!? Did you make sure that you have regular expressions enabled on the replace panel (ctrl+H)?
Attachments
ST2_RegEx.gif
ST2_RegEx.gif (4.81 KiB) Viewed 842 times
jbjornson
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Search and replace on an unsaved temporary window?

Postby wamatt on Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:23 am

God... look at the first pic. I was using forwardslash instead of backslash!

Thanks for the help! :)
wamatt
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:59 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], vjik, Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests