Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby singw on Thu May 24, 2012 3:34 am

atomi wrote:
singw wrote:
kellishaver wrote:Excellent, thank you! I don't use vintage mode, so I've modified it a bit to work everywhere, which was very easy to do.

Thanks a million. This makes the cursor so much easier to see!

I wish it blinked, but that's kind of ridiculous functionality to ask for in a plug-in. Hopefully a block cursor style will be added to the official release in the future.


I don't know much about python. Can you share the modified code for using it everywhere to me? thx


Remove lines 22,23,24
Code: Select all
        if view.settings().get('is_widget') or not view.settings().get('command_mode'):
            view.erase_regions('SublimeBlockCursorListener')
            return

So that It only does
Code: Select all
self.show_block_cursor(view)

In the file:
https://github.com/netpro2k/SublimeBloc ... kCursor.py


thx. but it's so not the same as what i mean for block cursor...sad.... :cry:
singw
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 2:16 pm

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby C0D312 on Thu May 24, 2012 3:52 am

You know how the saying goes: Nothing is better than something.



Wait, that doesn't sound right...
C0D312
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:23 am

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby ipuustin on Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:28 am

I had to create a user account on the forum to be able to +1 this request. A block cursor would be really important especially in Vi command mode. Of course, the themes would then need to be able to set the cursor background and text colors.
ipuustin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:14 am

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby icosahedron on Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:14 am

+1 for this feature. Or the aforementioned Python hooks would be sufficient too.
icosahedron
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:41 am

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby malpeli on Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:46 am

+1 for a huge block cursor. And, if possible, column line highlight :)

Image

Great help to follow caret when using high speed vi commands.
malpeli
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:35 am

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby quodlibet on Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:53 pm

abathologist wrote:If you add both of the following to "Settings - User", you can get it be be blinky and wide at the same time:

Code: Select all
"caret_style": "phase"

"wide_caret": true



Thanks for this!

Did you find this documented somewhere? (I have never come across it before, and I thought I knew all the common places to look for options.)

Alex
quodlibet
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:53 pm

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby qgates on Thu Nov 22, 2012 4:53 am

Related, it'd be nice to see a UX enhancement to bring the user's attention to the cursor, optionally when tab/window gets focus and optionally when the user hits a panic key (I've lost the cursor!). Some kind of circle zooming down to the cursor or something along those lines.

I'm losing the caret in sublime all the time, especially when keyboard switching between split panes. I suppose line hilighting helps, and block cursor would be more visible, but I'm hoping for block cursor together with virtual space so that the cursor appearance changes when in virtual space.

I suppose cursor classes and API hooks to allow us to render appearance of each class would be the most flexible approach.

S
qgates
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby icylace on Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:51 am

@malpeli: Please checkout my new plugin called CursorRuler (announcement thread here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=11067) which can do column highlighting :)
icylace
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:24 am

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby mark4 on Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:07 pm

i had hoped we would have both a block cursor AND virtual spaces in ST3.. mybe by the time it comes out of beta we will have these... we can only hope :)))
mark4
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:33 am

Re: Can we please have an option for a block cursor?

Postby jonjac on Sat Sep 21, 2013 10:11 am

+1 for a block cursor.

As some other people here I had to create a forum login just to +1 this.
I'm really surprised that it wasn't already an option.
jonjac
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:56 am

PreviousNext

Return to Ideas and Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: c627627 and 10 guests