Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Sublime doesn't refresh/draw edits

Sublime doesn't refresh/draw edits

Postby dewmsolo on Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:21 pm

Hello all,

I just installed Sublime to try it and see if I would like it more than Notepad++ for my windows development.

I am experiencing some strange behavior though.

When I open Sublime with or without a file, the editor doesn't get refreshed. So say I am in explorer and right-click a file and choose 'Open with Sublime'. The sublime window pops up and remains empty. Thinking that it is loading I give it some time....still nothing like a minute later. I click and move the window and it shows my file. I click a line and edit the text, but it doesn't show my code. I click and move the window and my text appears. No matter what I do inside the editor will not show unless I move the window, which I suppose works because it forces a full redraw of the application.

I tried the 'renderer opengl' in the preferences. I managed to get it in there at the end of the file by moving the window every few operations so I could keep track. Still it has the same behavior.

Can anyone help with this?
dewmsolo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:49 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Sublime doesn't refresh/draw edits

Postby protoplasm on Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:07 pm

Hi there,

The only issues I've experienced were sorted by moving to the OpenGL renderer, so I can't help, but I guess useful information you could provide would be:

* The version of Sublime you're using
* The version of Windows you're using
* Information on your graphics card

If you weren't using the latest beta, I would certainly say to give that a go. For what it's worth I find the Sublime Text betas to be very stable, though obviously your mileage may vary.
protoplasm
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Sublime doesn't refresh/draw edits

Postby dewmsolo on Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:54 am

I use the latest sublime from the download page....1.2.2 I believe
It is a Win XP Pro 32 bit dell pc with a GeForce 8400GS video card.

To compare I installed it on my personal computer which a Win7 core i7 and it runs flawlessly.

I decided to run a quick test by running the dxdiag video tests and they fail. I couldn't see why but I later found that my directx is corrupted. I had problems with that pc this summer when one of ram sticks blew and since then I run with less memory but the pc hasn't been the same since. I tried re-installing directx but it seems completely corrupted and I cannot do it. I assume a full reinstall would be a good thing, but my boss is not in favor of losing over a pc that so far still allows me to work......

Although this could explain why it doesn't behave in directx, it still doesn't explain why the behavior is the same with opengl and I know opengl works fine as I run World of Warcraft sometimes on that pc.

I will try the latest beta tomorrow.

Thanks
dewmsolo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:49 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Sublime doesn't refresh/draw edits

Postby dewmsolo on Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:15 pm

Ok...so
    Latest video card drivers
    With or without opengl
    Latest beta 2009/12/12

Still doesn't work properly on that pc.
dewmsolo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:49 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BugFix, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Orlmente, Yahoo [Bot] and 48 guests