I'm on Windows and it remembers that the mini-map is closed (or open) when I choose File, New Window, or similar. I haven't changed any setting so I'm not sure why your set-up behaves differently: soz.
"I'm here to save your life. But if I'm going to do that, I'll need total uninanonynymity." Me Myself & Irene.