Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Sublime Text 3 Beta

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby knrd on Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:20 am

Awesome, so far v3 easily beats v2. Seems to be a lot faster than v2, almost on par with v1. And I finally get to disable animations :)

Just a couple of questions:

Is there a theme that copies v1? Tabs are hard to distinguish in 2/3 and they take up more space.
How do I completely hide the folder view? view -> folders is grayed out.
What font rendering was used in v1? Trying the various pixel rendering options I'm getting close, but not quite there yet.
How can I view char encoding for a file? In v1, hovering over the tab will display the file name as well as encoding in the status bar.

And I think the status text isn't affected by the font rendering settings (things like tab count in the status bar). Is this intentional or a bug?

Thanks Jon.

(apologies if some those features were provided by plugins, been using the same setup for almost 3 years and have probably forgotten a plugin I installed)
knrd
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:23 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby quarnster on Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:57 am

Without begin_edit, how do I do something like this:
Code: Select all
                    self.__view.run_command("adb_add_line", {"some_data": data, "instance": self})
                    # or
                    self.__view.run_command("adb_add_line", {"some_data": data, "callback": self.callback})

This currently gives me:
Code: Select all
    sublime_api.view_run_command(self.view_id, cmd, args)
TypeError: Value required


Do I have to expand it to
Code: Select all
self.__view.run_command("adb_add_line", {"every": single, "data": needed, "to": run, "this": command})
?
quarnster
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:13 am

quarnster: the latter option:

Code: Select all
self.view.run_command("adb_add_line", {"every": single, "data": needed, "to": run, "this": command})


The advantage of this approach is that issued commands will work correct with repeat, as well as with macros.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3058
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby sublimator on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:15 am

Implementing marshal law on developers so they MUST play nice with macros / repeats


FFFFF :/ Yeah, not such a huge fan either

Yeah, it would be nice if you could somehow run arbitrary functions as commands, with access to closures, so you don't have to do all that explicit dependency marshaling.

Note there's lots of times from inside an on_change callback passed to show_input_panel that you need an Edit object to make sure sublime paints updates you make therein.

Or from timeouts, or ... etc
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt
sublimator
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:41 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby sublimator on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:17 am

Image


Meanwhile, in Australia ...
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt
sublimator
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:41 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby quarnster on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:38 am

jps: ok, got it.

Are (displayname, insertname) style auto completions no longer supported, or just not working yet? This code
Code: Select all
import sublime_plugin
import sublime
class EVL(sublime_plugin.EventListener):
    def on_query_completions(self, view, prefix, locations):
        return ([("Hello(world)\tint", "Hello(${1:world})")], 0)

inserts "Hello(world) int" (ie, the first item)
quarnster
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:45 am

on_query_completions is intended to be backwards compatible, so it's likely a bug. I'll take a look at it.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3058
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby TheFelikZ on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:53 am

Is there any option to open each project in different process / thread?
I'm working with a huge project on PHP (thousands of files) and sublime text going to be crazy when tryed to index that. Even after close project and window tab associated with, other windows with other project still has performance issues until restart of sublime text.

This problem exists both on 2 and 3 versions.
TheFelikZ
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:09 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby wuub on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:59 am

Code: Select all
>>> import sqlite3
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
  File "X/sqlite3/__init__.py", line 23, in <module>
  File "X/sqlite3/dbapi2.py", line 26, in <module>
ImportError: No module named '_sqlite3'


Is there a reason why sqlite3 is still not available?

The plugin API itself has moved from using boost.python in S2 to the raw Python C API in S3 (...)


Could this possibly enable building external C libraries for SublimeText? Working pyzmq is something that I dream about :)

EDIT3:
Can plugin_host be launched separately from the editor? Unit testing plugins would be great.
Last edited by wuub on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:06 am, edited 4 times in total.
SublimeREPL via Package Control & SublimePTY dev/pre-alpha. Donations are appreciated, but not required :) Twitter: @wuub
wuub
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:16 am
Location: Poland

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby planet on Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:59 am

Great news!

JPS, can you comment on the upgrade process (OSX)? I understand that plugins will probably be broken. But what about user settings, key bindings, macros, etc.? Is it possible to install ST3 separately?

Thanx!!
planet
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 12:30 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests